May is High Blood Pressure Awareness Month. To recognize the importance of treating high blood pressure, Jefferson Libraries is providing a list of learning materials on hypertension. Topics include guides to managing hypertension, pregnancy and high blood pressure, ocular hypertension, and more.
Hypertension and Stroke (ebook)
Hypertension Secrets (print)
Ocular Hypertension (video)
This May, we’re adding 25 eBooks to our collection that cover a wide range of topics. Check out the list below, which includes innovation in the fashion industry, an infectious disease handbook, and the hidden costs of global warming.
Browse our complete eBook collections at the Dixon Library on the Dixon Campus, the Gutman Library on the East Falls Campus, and the Scott Library on the Center City Campus.
Amplifying Voices in UX: Balancing Design and User Needs in Technical Communication
Bioplastics for Sustainability: Manufacture, Technologies, and Environment
The Body Keeps the Score: Brain, Mind, and Body in the Healing of Trauma
Culturally Conscious Board: Setting the Boardroom Table for Impact
Detailing Worlds: A Conceptual History of Architectural Detail
Fashion Business and Digital Transformation: Technology and Innovation Across the Fashion Industry
Fashion in the Metaverse: Designs and Technologies Shaping the Future
Good is the New Cool Guide to Personal Purpose: Designing a Meaningful and Prosperous Career
Health Policy and Analysis: Framework and Tools for Success
The Infectious Diseases Consult Handbook: Common Questions and Answers
Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of General Hospital Psychiatry
Models for Multi-state Survival Data: Rates, Risks, and Pseudo-values
MRI/DTI Atlas of the Human Brainstem in Transverse and Sagittal Lanes
The Promise and Peril of CRISPR
RNA As a Drug Target: The Next Frontier for Medicinal Chemistry
Slow Burn: The Hidden Costs of a Warming World
Speech Sound Disorders: For Classroom and Clinic
Stuck: How the Privileged and the Propertied Broke the Engine of American Opportunity
Teaching Cultural Competence and Cultural Humility in Medical Education: A Practical Guide
Sciwheel is now Lean Library Workspace. Known initially as F1000 Workspace, Jefferson researchers have been using the intuitive, web-based citation management tool for many years (through multiple name changes) to support their production of high-quality scholarship.
Visit the citation management tools guide from the Jefferson Libraries for more information.
Unwind with a Brain Break during May Week! Take a look at the programming below for stress relieving activities. Visit Scott Library’s 2nd floor for giveaways, coloring sheets & puzzles, and leisure books until May 2.
Monday, April 28: Self Care Day & Therapy Dog Day
Self Care Day: Lubert Plaza, 9am
brought to you by the office of Student Life & Engagement
Therapy Dog Griff: Scott Library, 12-2pm
brought to you by the Scott Memorial Library
Tuesday, April 29: Therapy Goats from Philly Goat Project
12 - 2 pm, Lubert Plaza
Rain date: Wednesday, April 30, 12pm
brought to you the Office of Recreation & the Fitness Center
Wednesday, April 30: Chair Massages
4-7 pm, 1st floor Scott Memorial Library
brought to you by the Office of Residential Life
Thursday, May 1: Ticket Series AMC Tickets
starts at 10 am, Jefferson Alumni Hall (JAH) 105
brought to you by the Office of Campus & Community Engagement
Brain Breaks & May Week are brought to you by the Scott Memorial Library, Office of Student Life & Engagement, Office of Residential Life, Office of Recreation & the Fitness Center, and the Office of Campus & Community Engagement.
The Jefferson College of Life Sciences Science Slam is back!
Show your support by cheering on this year’s contestants as they share their research and compete for your votes. The audience picks the winners as they hear about cool science and nibble on free food.
Time and location: April 10th at 5:00 pm
Biolabs for Advanced Therapeutics
Philadelphia, The Curtis Center,
601 Walnut Street
There’s no better time to appreciate a little humor in health care than on April Fools’ Day! Check out the nine resources below from the Jefferson Libraries to learn about health care hoaxes and quack medicine, and get a laugh with medical comics and a singing pediatrician.
eBooks
The Crazy, Wonderful Things Kids Say: Tales from the Singing Pediatrician
Humor and the Health Professions: The Therapeutic Use of Humor in Health Care
Quack Quack: The Threat of Pseudoscience
Tax, Medicines and the Law: From Quackery to Pharmacy
Print Books Available at Scott Library (Center City Campus)
Bedlam Among the Bedpans: Humor in Nursing
The Best of Health Professions Humor: A Collection of Articles, Essays, and Poetry Published in the Allied Health Literature
The Krebiozen Hoax
If It Sounds Like a Quack
Check out the Research Support Newsletter for the latest resources and support from the Jefferson Libraries and Academic Commons. The screenshots below highlight sections of the newsletter.
Find support available at every stage of your research and publishing process – like data management software (ex: LabArchives and MATLAB), citation managers and manuscript editors (ex: RefWorks & the OPWPC), AI tools (ex: Proofig & iThenticate), etc.
The resources outlined in this newsletter are available to all Center City and East Falls researchers, faculty, clinicians, students, and staff through a site-wide license paid for by the Jefferson Libraries. Download the report today from the Jefferson Digital Commons (JDC) and share it with your fellow Jefferson researchers.
Check out the 25 new titles we're adding to our digital shelves this month. Scan the titles below, or browse our complete eBook collections at the Dixon Library (on the Thomas Jefferson University – Horsham Campus), the Gutman Library (on the Thomas Jefferson University – East Falls Campus), and the Scott Library (on the Thomas Jefferson University – Center City Campus).
Angela Davis: An Autobiography
The Art of Medical Communication: Bringing the Humanities into Clinical Practice
Cellular and Molecular Immunology
Demystifying Architectural Research: Adding Value to Your Practice
Diagnostic Pathology: Kidney Diseases
The Everything War: Amazon's Ruthless Quest to Own the World and Remake Corporate Power
Fashion History: A Global View
GIS Tutorial for ArcGIS Pro 3.1
Managing Social Anxiety: A Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy Approach
Nursing Ethics: Normative Foundations, Advanced Concepts, and Emerging Issues
Occupational Therapy Practice Guidelines for Individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorder
Positive Psychology: The Science of Wellbeing and Human Strengths
Principles of Pulmonary Medicine
Qualitative Analysis Using NVivo the Five-Level QDA Method
Radiology in Global Health: Strategies, Implementation, and Applications
Research Methods for the Architectural Profession
Storytelling in Medicine: How Narrative Can Improve Practice
Teaching Cultural Competence and Cultural Humility in Medical Education: A Practical Guide
The War Below: Lithium, Copper, and the Global Battle to Power Our Lives
If you're a student on the Thomas Jefferson University – Center City Campus looking for an easy way to display and share your videos, images, or notes for group study, check out the Scott Library's Video Projector Kits.
Kits are available to borrow from Scott Library's Access Services Desk on the 2nd floor for three days at a time. Kits can be used anywhere on the Center City campus but should not be taken off campus.
Each kit includes:
Projectors will connect to most laptops with HDMI, iPhones and iPads with Lightning ports, and devices with USB C video or Thunderbolt ports.
Many study rooms on campus are already configured to support projection. The following rooms are configured with a monitor on the wall, which can easily connect to your device:
In addition to projector kits, Scott Library can provide HDMI cables and device adapters that connect to a wide range of personal devices. To learn more about our tools to support group study, call us at (215) 503-6995 or email SML-circ@jefferson.edu.
Updates to the Jefferson Libraries’ catalog now make spotting a predatory or problematic journal or article easier. You will now see a “Problematic Journal” message on a problematic full-text article or journal within the Jefferson Libraries’ catalog (left) or while using the LibKey Nomad browser extension (right).
This update is thanks to Cabells Predatory Reports, which examines journals for misleading metrics, deceptive research, irregular publication practices, and other warning signs. Clicking the “Problematic Journal” text will take you to a page with more details regarding the problems and concerns related to the article or journal.
Deceptive research and publishing practices compromise the integrity of the scholarly record, interfering with scientific progress and evidence-based practice. There has been an increased volume of problematic publications that fail to provide promised services, spread myths and disinformation, harm scholars’ reputations, and lead to distrust and resource misallocation.
Visit the Jefferson Libraries Journal Evaluation Guide for tips on journal selection and tools for journal evaluation. If you have questions or would like to incorporate these topics into instruction sessions for your learners, please contact the Jefferson Libraries.
