Communication & Media Studies

This collection of over 550 journal titles in full text includes the following collections: Communication & Media Studies Collection, Criminology Collection, Politics & International Relations Collection, Sociology Collection, Education Collection, Psychology Collection, Nursing & Public Health Collection, Management & Organization Studies Collection, Materials Science & Engineering Collection, Urban Studies & Planning Collection.

Topics include: gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.

Google Scholar is a growing database of scholarly literature in all fields. It is problematic to search, since Google does not give specifics about dates covered, bibliographic sources, or currency of material. However, it is an easy starting point that may satisfy entry-level search needs. While Google Scholar is free to all users from the Google site, this link passes users through Jefferson's proxy server, so that Google will then display Jefferson links to subscribed full text, where available.

“Published since 1964, this is the definitive bibliographic reference covering the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present..."

Topics include: Sociology, Psychology, Communications, Political Science, Linguistics, Criminology, Education

LGBTQ+ Source is the definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.

Note for off campus access:
Use link http://library.jefferson.edu/find/databases/women_social_us.cfm and then find database under MY COLLECTIONS drop-down menu.

Women and Social Movements in the United States is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history generally at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 94 document projects and archives with more than 3,750 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and almost 2,100 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. For more advanced work with the site you can access the online version of Notable American Women or the database on Commissions on the Status of Women separately

Note for off campus access:
Use link http://library.jefferson.edu/find/databases/women_social_international.cfm and then find database under MY COLLECTIONS drop-down menu.

Women and Social Movements, International is a landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how womens social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life. We will be adding regularly to the database to bring it to its final complement of 150,000 pages of documents.