LibGuides: Fashion Design: Explore/Get Started

Electronic Resources

Fashion Image Sources

Artstor This link opens in a new window
300 collections composed of over 2 million images. These curated images have been rights-cleared for use in education and research — you are free to use them in classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly activities.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window Berg Fashion Library is now part of Bloomsbury Fashion Central. Bloomsbury Fashion Central provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. It includes the Berg Fashion Library, the Fashion Photography Archive, an extensive E-Book collection, an image bank, extra reference resources and more.
Just Style This link opens in a new window
Since March 1999, just-style.com has developed into one of the most respected and fastest growing apparel, footwear and textile trade sites around. The site's unique content is produced and sourced by a network of correspondents and content partnerships, headed up by Leonie Barrie, former Editor of Clothing World magazine. This is a comprehensive source for news and feature articles about the industry. The content is searchable.

Vogue Archive
more...less...
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
Vogue Archive-Research Guide
Detailed user guide for Vogue Archive

WGSN - World's Global Style Network This link opens in a new window
*Note: To download articles while off campus, log in HERE with your personal WGSN account.*
Fashion industry information including news, trend and style information, analysis of industry events, trade show information, catwalk photos from the latest fashion shows in major fashion capitals, city specific fashion information, and technical information on related textiles events.

WWD ONLINE - Women's Wear Daily
more...less...
Often called "the fashion bible," Women's Wear Daily serves as the voice of authority, international newswire and agent of change for the fashion, beauty and retail industries. First and foremost, WWD is dedicated to providing a balance of timely, credible business news and key women's fashion trends to a dedicated readership. This readership includes retailers, designers, manufacturers, marketers, financiers, Wall Street analysts, international moguls, media executives, ad agencies, socialites and trend makers. As the marketplace has become more complex, the need for information and competitive intelligence has become more acute. The common thread of our community is the business of style and fashion. What makes WWD the authority? Frequency, integrity, independence, spirited coverage and a long tradition that demands staffers get the story and get it first.

20,000 Years of Fashion by Boucher, Francois
Call Number: 391.0009 B753t87
The history of costume and personal adornment.
Publisher: Abrams, 1987.
Fashion by English, Bonnie
Call Number: 746.920922 E58f
The 50 most influential fashion designers of all time.
Publisher: Barrons, 2010.
20th-Century Fashion by Peacock, John
Call Number: R391.009 D356t
Reference book, does not circulate.
Publisher: Thames & Hudson, 1993.
Who's Who In Fashion by Anne Stegemeyer & Holly Price Alford
Call Number: R391.09 S799w5
Fifth edition of this important reference book.
Publisher: Fairchild Books, 2010