What is Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM)?
Evidence-Based Medicine Books at Gutman Library
A Beginner's Guide to Evidence-Based Practice in Health and Social Care by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780335246724Publication Date: 2013-04-01Aims to explain evidence-based practice (EBP) and present it as a topic that practitioners of all
levels, including students, can relate to from the very start of their professional experience and in their writing. Provides a step-by-step approach to using evidence in practice.
Essential Evidence-Based Medicine by Call Number: 616 M468e2ISBN: 9780521712415Teaches the principles of research study methodology and design to improve one's ability to critically analyze scientific and clinical studies. Describes the basics of biostatistics and epidemiology applied to health care studies; An ideal introductory text for medical students, health sciences students and other healthcare professionals.
How to Read a Paper: The Basics of Evidence-Based Medicine by Call Number: 616 G813h4ISBN: 9781444334364Describes the different types of clinical research reporting, and explains how to critically appraise publications. Provides the tools to find and evaluate the literature, and implement findings in an evidence-based, patient-centered way. Written for anyone in the health care professions who has little or no knowledge of evidence-based medicine.
Comprehensive Hospital Medicine: an evidence-based approach [electronic resource] by ISBN: 1416002979Nationally recognized experts provide state-of-the-art, evidence-based, hospital-focused guidelines on clinical assessment, diagnosis, prognosis, treatment, and discharge/follow-up planning to help you to effectively manage all of the key disorders in every body system.
Databases for Evidence-Based articles/reports
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases, including Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, which is commonly referred to as "Trials" or "CENTRAL", Cochrane Systematic Reviews and Protocols, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
- Google Scholar for Jeffersonians This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar is a growing database of scholarly literature in all fields. It is problematic to search, since Google does not give specifics about dates covered, bibliographic sources, or currency of material. However, it is an easy starting point that may satisfy entry-level search needs. While Google Scholar is free to all users from the Google site, this link passes users through Jefferson's proxy server, so that Google will then display Jefferson links to subscribed full text, where available.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- Trip (free version) This link opens in a new window
Video: EBM and Study Design
- A Brief Introduction to the Hierarchy of Evidence and Study DesignFrom Duke University Medical Librarian Connie Schardt- 2011
Practice Guidelines
Other EBM Web Resources
- ACP Journal ClubACP Journal Club is a series with the Annals of Internal Medicine. To browse the journal club articles, access the Annals of Internal Medicine through the American College of Physicians and find the Journal Club link in the top menu.
