LibGuides: Pre-Med Guide (including Genetics): Home

Key Resources

Frequently Used Resources

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window A collection of 50+ clinical and basic science textbooks, including classics such as Harrison's Principals of Internal Medicine. Tabs across the top provide easy access portals to information on drugs, diagnostic tests, patient handouts, video & audio, guidelines, and quick answers. Also provides information on Self-Assessments, USMLE preparation tips, sample questions, and Diagnosaurus for differential diagnosis.
Google Scholar for Jeffersonians This link opens in a new window
ProQuest This link opens in a new window Searches the following ProQuest databases: ABI/Inform Collection, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, Design & Applied Arts Index, eBook Central, Historical New York Times newspaper, Global Newsstream, ProQuest Research Library and the Vogue Archive.
PubMed This link opens in a new window While basic PubMed is free to all Internet users, this link adds blue "Jefferson" buttons to individual citations that connect to Jefferson journal subscriptions and document delivery services for full-text options. PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's own interface for MEDLINE and also includes PREMEDLINE (new citations which don't have their subject headings yet) and OLDMEDLINE (reaching back to the 1950s). Use it to identify journal articles on your biomedical topic.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is Jefferson Libraries’ broadest literature database for nursing, life and health sciences. Scopus searches citations and abstracts of over 44,000 sources across a broad spectrum of sciences, medicine, social sciences and technology, journals, books, conference papers, and world patent literature. Alerts and individual profiles are available. Since 1996, Scopus has indexed the citations and references for each document, making it possible to track citations to individual documents and authors. A suite of article, journal and author metrics are available to analyze research impact.

JAMA Table of Contents Feed

The peer-reviewed Journal of the American Medical Association

Archives of Internal Med.

For full text of these papers, click on the article link.

Where to Start

Starting Your Research

To begin your research, use the following resources to obtain background information on your topic:

AccessMedicine
Provides full-text access to more than 100 medical and basic science titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device.

R2 Library This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of textbooks in medicine, nursing and allied health disciplines.

ClinicalKey
Full-text database of 1,000+ medical textbooks; 500+ medical journals
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
Leading medical textbook online

To locate specific article references, try the following:

PubMed

CINAHL - Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers for finding articles, dissertations and more. The database also includes information about consumer health, patient education, and health sciences librarianship. It uses a special controlled vocabulary which overlaps in some areas with PubMed’s Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Complete text for some articles and testing instruments are available online.

Google Scholar
Remote users: Use any Google Scholar link from a library page.. Once you log in and search, you see Full-Text@Gutman Library links to full-text content. No set-up required!
more...less...
A multidisciplinary collection of scholarly books, articles, and conference papers from a wide range of subject areas. It can be a good starting place for researching a paper, but it is not comprehensive enough to be the only place you look.

AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is Jefferson Libraries’ broadest literature database for nursing, life and health sciences. Scopus searches citations and abstracts of over 44,000 sources across a broad spectrum of sciences, medicine, social sciences and technology, journals, books, conference papers, and world patent literature. Alerts and individual profiles are available. Since 1996, Scopus has indexed the citations and references for each document, making it possible to track citations to individual documents and authors. A suite of article, journal and author metrics are available to analyze research impact.

Genetics Resources/Databases

Comprehensive database of human genes and genetic phenotypes. Contains

full text information on all known Mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes.

Genetic Testing Registry
Central location for genetic test information.
Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms
more...less...
From the National Genome Research Institute of the NIH, provides oral and written explanations/definitions of many terms; includes animations, videos, and a self-test module.

Additional Medical Resources

Cochrane
Best single source of reliable evidence about the effects of health care.
more...less...
. The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - evidence based systematic reviews prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration which provide high quality information to people providing and receiving care and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels.

SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
This collection of over 550 journal titles in full text includes the following collections: Communication & Media Studies Collection, Criminology Collection, Politics & International Relations Collection, Sociology Collection, Education Collection, Psychology Collection, Nursing & Public Health Collection, Management & Organization Studies Collection, Materials Science & Engineering Collection, Urban Studies & Planning Collection.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink offers over 1,200 journals in full text. In addition to biomedical journals, subjects include mathematics, linguistics, material sciences, computer science, law and many other fields.

DSM-V
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition

Health Business Elite This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. Topics covered include hospital management, hospital administration, marketing, human resources, computer technology, facilities management and insurance. Health Business Elite contains full-text content for nearly 600 journals such as H&HN: Hospitals & Health Networks, Harvard Business Review (available back to 1922), Health Facilities Management, Health Management Technology, Healthcare Financial Management, Marketing Health Services, Modern Healthcare, and many more. Some journals have full-text delays.