Research Guides: Writing Seminar I: WRIT101 and WRIT101S: WRIT-101: Writing Seminar I

Writing Seminar I

Welcome to the WRIT 101/S LibGuide

This guide links to information to help you use Gutman Library's resources for your research papers. You can access many books/Ebooks, articles, databases, and more from Gutman Library for free!

Please explore the links on this guide, and familiarize yourself with Gutman Library's resources.

If you need help with your research - please email me or drop by my office (Room 111 at Gutman Library), and I will be happy to assist you.

-Ashley

Links to Recommended Texts for the Course:

Bad Ideas About Writing, by Ball, Cheryl and Drew M. Loewe
They Say I Say: The Moves That Matter in Academic Writing, 4th ed. By Graff, Gerald and Cathy Birkenstein. (this title is on reserve at the library; ask for it at the circulation desk)
Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing. By Lowe, Zemliansky, Driscoll, Heise, Stewart, Vetter, and Daniels-Lerberg.
- Volume 1 (2010)
- Volume 2 (2011)

Other Helpful Guides and Resources

Citation Style Guide
Do you need help producing citations in the correct format? This guide can help you - we offer information and guidance on AMA, APA, MLA, and more.
Philadelphia Research Guide
more... less...

This guide contains links to databases and sites that allow users to collect data at the zip code level on a variety of Philadelphia topics.
Excelsior OWL
The Excelsior Online Writing Lab is essentially the same thing as the Purdue OWL Citation Guide, but with fewer ads. Click to explore and to view easy-to-understand citation guidance.
Writing Resources from the Academic Success Center
This page from the Academic Success Center's website offers a great variety of helpful information on writing, editing, revision, and citations.

Key Databases for Finding Research Articles

JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Over 20,000 objects from Thomas Jefferson University are available on JSTOR, including the Textile and Costume Collection, the East Falls Historic Photo Archives, the Materials Library, and various historic collections that document the textile industry.

ProQuest
Searches the following ProQuest databases: ABI/Inform Collection, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, Design & Applied Arts Index, eBook Central, Historical New York Times newspaper, Global Newsstream, ProQuest Research Library and the Vogue Archive.
EBSCOhost (databases)
Allows searching across many EBSCOhost databases, including Academic Search Premier, Environment Complete, Regional Business News, Business Source Premier, SocIndex and more.

Scholarly vs Non-Scholarly/Popular Sources

Are you required to find both scholarly and popular sources for an assignment? Use this chart to help you know the difference between the two:

PRO TIPS:

Scholarly sources (especially peer-reviewed ones!) can easily be found using the Library's search tool:
An easy way to spot a popular source is to look around on it's webpage - are there a ton of ads? Is the author likely just looking to get clicks, or to make money by posting the information? If yes to either of those questions, then it is likely a popular source, not a scholarly one.

Still having trouble? This Youtube video from the University of Alabama Libraries can help.

Helpful E-Books (Click titles to access)

How to Stop Being Stuck with Your Academic Writing by Seonaidh McDonald
ISBN: 9781789903959

Publication Date: 2024-06-21

Providing a wealth of advice surrounding different ways of working, collaborating and thinking about your writing, this illuminating How to guide acts as an essential sourcebook for academics at any career stage. Seonaidh McDonald shares authentic stories, offers countless suggestions and provides key resources to help you progress your academic writing. This indispensable guide equips readers with the strategies they need to start writing, and keep writing. Sections can be navigated sequentially, randomly or by linked ideas, offering a myriad of tools and approaches that can be used to develop key writing skills, such as becoming unstuck, drafting and working with others. They also cover a broad range of contemporary scholastic concerns including a section on improving your writing, a discussion of current institutional barriers to academic writing and an extensive resource list. How to Stop Being Stuck with your Academic Writingacts as an essential resource for scholars struggling with their craft or supporting others with their writing. It will also be of interest to academics of business and other social science disciplines including development studies, economics and management seeking to build more consistency and joy into their writing processes.
The Art and Architecture of Academic Writing by Patricia Prinz; Birna Arnbjörnsdóttir
ISBN: 9789027207524

Publication Date: 2021-09-10

This book is a bridge to confident academic writing for advanced non-native English users. It emphasizes depth over breadth through mastery of core writing competencies and strategies which apply to most academic disciplines and genres. Tailored to students in EMI programs, the content was piloted and revised during a longitudinal writing study. The innovative approach prepares students to write for the academic community through the dual lenses of Art (developing a writer's voice through choices in language, style, and topics) and Architecture (mastering norms of academic language, genre, and organization.) The user-friendly text maximizes time for writing practice and production by avoiding lengthy readings. Part 1 builds skills and confidence in writing by focusing on assignments that do not require research. Part 2 applies newly mastered principles, skills, and strategies to research-based writing. Students learn to incorporate thesis, research, and evidence into a process for academic writing by following the AWARE framework (Arranging to write, Writing, Assessing, Revising, and Editing.)
Academic Writing Skills for International Students by Siew Hean Read
ISBN: 9781350427877

Publication Date: 2024-02-22

Are you a non-native English speaker studying or preparing to study at an English-language university? If so, this book is for you. This engaging guide equips students with the tools and confidence to respond effectively and appropriately to written assignments at university. It will help you to develop essential writing skills, such as structuring paragraphs and building an argument, and provides practical guidance on adhering to the conventions of academic writing. It guides the reader systematically through a series of text analyses which bring out key linguistic and rhetorical features, making complex textual issues manageable and understandable for learners of all abilities. Reorganized to allow for easier navigability and revised for greater accessibility, the new edition now includes: - An expanded introduction to show students how to use the book successfully - A writing checklist to review the key principles of skills covered in the book - A broader range of examples - More practical activities - More on plagiarism
This is an ideal self-study aid for non-native English speakers, both on pre-sessional language courses and on degree programs, who need to get to grips with the conventions of academic writing.