Design, Engineering & Commerce Liaison Librarian
Find Articles, Books, and More
"Everything" Search - the search box on Gutman Library's home page
When you need to research accounting, an excellent first step is to check our catalog. Searching "Everything" means searching for any source type (articles, books, ebooks, videos, conference proceedings, and more) across many of our 225+ subscription databases at once. You cannot ask our catalog a question, so brainstorm for keywords first (see the concept map on this guide's "Form Your Topic" page) then consider trying a Boolean logic search with AND, OR, or NOT.
| Boolean Operator | Search Example | How does it work? |
| AND | "certified public accountant" AND career |
AND narrows a search by retrieving sources with all your terms Putting terms in quotation marks retrieves sources with those keywords next to each other |
| OR | "financial audit" OR "forensic audit" | OR broadens a search by finding sources with either term |
| NOT | risk NOT fraud | NOT narrows a search by excluding sources with an unwanted term |
Key Database Resources
These online databases are only available to current Jefferson students, faculty, and staff. Access the databases on or off campus with your campus key and password.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprised of three databases: ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Topics include business and financial information, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competition environment.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, some dating back to 1922. Also includes company and industry reports.
- Checkpoint Taxation database This link opens in a new window
Thomson Reuters Checkpoint is the industry leader providing intelligent information to tax and accounting professionals including expert research, guidance, technology, tools, learning, and news. Includes PPC, RIA, WG&L and EBIA content.
You can access Checkpoint from link above or you can create a student ID which has additional functionality and customization features that are not available with the library's access. To register for a temporary Checkpoint student ID, you will first need to authenticate yourself with your network user ID and password and then go to http://cpreg.thomsonreuters.com. - Emerald Journals This link opens in a new windowTopics include: Accounting, finance and economics; Business; Engineering; Health and social care; Marketing.
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Company, executive, financial, and industry information, with access to private, public U.S, and international data. Includes Key Business Ratios, and demographics and consumer data for marketing.
- Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
An online database featuring an indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents. The database contains hundreds of thousands of reports, covering over 100 countries and industries.
- ProQuest Research Library: Business This link opens in a new window
Topics include: Business, Economic conditions, Corporate strategies, Management theory, Management techniques, Business trends, Competitive landscape and product information, Accounting, and Finance
Key Accounting Journals
- Journal of AccountancyAmerican Institute of Certified Public Accountants trade journal available in full text in the database ABI/Inform
- Pennsylvania CPA JournalPennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants trade journal available in full text in the database ABI/Inform