Academic Commons News - Research Guides at Thomas Jefferson University

The EBSCOhost platform recently updated its interface, which the Jefferson Libraries use to provide access to A-Z Databases, from Academic Search Premier and the Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) to World Textiles. The cleaner, modern look should provide a more intuitive research experience for undergraduates and occasional users. A few changes include:

Filters, previously in the left column, are now located as buttons under the basic search box
The search history is now found under recent activity
Bulk export of up to 25,000 records is available after logging into a MyEBSCO account
Business searching gets its own, new interface. Try it with Business Source Premier.

The new EBSCO interface moves filters below the search box, the search history under recent activity, and offers bulk export up to 25,000 results once signed into your MyEBSCO account.

Product updates will continue over the coming months. Some features, like citation counts, are not yet available. Advanced searchers such as those conducting systematic reviews may have more questions.

Please reach out to your librarians with feedback and questions.

Recent Posts

Check Out The Learning Curve Episode 3: Engagement Tools and Virtual Reality, with Guest Dr. John Milligan

Check out Episode 3: Engagement Tools and Virtual Reality of The Learning Curve podcast, available on all podcast platforms, where hosts Demi Harte, Leah Miller, and Jacob Santos, Instructional Designers in the Academic Commons, have John Milligan, Ph.D., on as a guest. Dr. Milligan is a Professor of Organic Chemistry in the College of Life Sciences at Thomas Jefferson University and has expertise in innovative chemistry instruction, student engagement in the classroom, and integrating virtual reality into education. This episode is a discussion of different ways teaching staff can bolster student engagement and learning through the use of innovative instructional strategies and virtual reality resources. Faculty can learn how to supplement traditional learning styles with technologies like Nearpod, how to receive student feedback on teaching practices, how to engage students who have accessibility concerns with technology-based activities, and more. The Learning Curve is a podcast hosted by the Academic Commons' Instructional Design Team. Their mission is to share teaching techniques and research-informed practices with educators and researchers in higher education fields. Outside of the podcast, the Instructional Design team supports educators with finding the best practices they can use for teaching. If you are interested in being a guest on the podcast, email the Instructional Design team with information about yourself and what you are interested in talking about. ...

25 New eBooks this July: Critical Care, Economics and Financial Management in Nursing, Green Cities, and More

This July, 25 eBooks have been added to the Jefferson Libraries’ digital collection. Topics include suicide prevention, language disorders in children, various nursing practices, and more. Browse our complete eBook collections at the Jefferson–Center City Campus/Scott Library, Jefferson–Dixon Campus/Library, and Jefferson–East Falls Campus/Gutman Library. Art Therapy for Racial Trauma, Microaggressions and Inequality: Social Justice and Advocacy in Therapy Work Atlas of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism Atlas of Psychiatry Biopsychology: The Basics Critical Care Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures Differential Diagnosis for Non-Medical Prescribers, Nurses and Pharmacists: A Case-Based Approach Drugs in Neurology 2E Facing Suicide: Understanding Why People Kill Themselves and How We Can Stop Them Hypertension Interdisciplinary Rheumatology: Rheumatology and Nephrology Introduction to Audiologic Rehabilitation: Facilitating Communication Across the Lifespan Language Disorders in Children: Fundamental Concepts of Assessment and Intervention Reflective Practice: Reimagining Ourselves, Reimagining Nursing The Coming Healthcare Revolution: 10 Forces That Will Cure America's Health Crisis Penner's Economics and Financial Management for Nurses and Nurse Leaders Routledge Companion to Occupational Therapy: Theories, Concepts and Models Off the Mark: How Grades, Ratings, and Rankings Undermine Learning (But Don't Have To) Bottlenecks: Aligning UX Design with User Psychology Healthcare Design Basics Hooked: How to Build Habit-Forming Products The Routledge Handbook on Greening High-Density Cities: Climate, Society and Health The Right It: Why So Many Ideas Fail and How to Make Sure Yours Succeed Think Like A UX Researcher: How to Observe Users, Influence Design, and Shape Business Strategy What's Your Problem?: To Solve Your Toughest Problems, Change the Problems You Solve A Cultural History of Furniture in the Modern Age ...

STAFF SPOTLIGHT: Get to know Laura Rider, Scott Memorial Library Access Services Technician

We are happy to welcome Laura Rider to the Scott Memorial Library Access Services Team! Laura will support students, faculty, and other patrons in accessing the various library resources, such as research guides, study spaces, and more. Read our Q&A below to learn more about Laura and her journey that brought her to Jefferson. What are your pronouns? My pronouns are she/her. What is your job title, and what Academic Commons department are you in? I am an Access Services Technician in the Access Services Department at Scott Memorial Library. When did you start working at the Academic Commons? I began working here in June 2025. What is your role, and how are your days typically structured? My role is to assist patrons in accessing library resources. This can mean anything from helping students reserve study spaces, navigate our research guides, or borrow anatomical models. I typically spend my day at the circulation desk, where I can tend to our visitors’ inquiries. Who do you support at Scott, and how can people contact you for help? I support the students of Jefferson and all patrons looking to utilize the resources of the Scott Memorial Library. Anyone looking for information may contact Access Services by telephone at (215)-503-6994. What motivated you to pursue this career path? I originally became interested in librarianship because I am a collector! As a teen, I began collecting zines about all sorts of topics. It wasn’t until I was studying English in undergrad that I realized how important libraries are and that working with collections may be a great fit for me. Since then, I have spent time working in both academic and public libraries. This has been a truly fulfilling journey that I wish to continue here at Jefferson. Outside of work, what do you do for fun? I enjoy playing guitar, taking long walks, and spending time with my friends. On a given weekend, you may find me rock climbing, playing soccer, or watching movies with my cat. What is a fun fact about yourself? I have never had a cavity. Nor have I ever broken a bone! But if I do, I know exactly where to go 😉 ...

STAFF SPOTLIGHT: Meet Lauren Carter, College of Architecture & the Built Environment (CABE) Liaison & Outreach Librarian at Gutman Library

Let's give a warm welcome to Lauren Carter, the new College of Architecture & the Built Environment Liaison & Outreach Librarian at the Paul J. Gutman Library! Lauren will support CABE students and faculty, and is looking forward to working with those on the East Falls Campus. Check out our Q&A below to get to know Lauren. What are your pronouns? she/they What is your job title? College of Architecture & the Built Environment (CABE) Liaison & Outreach Librarian What campus do you work on, and who do you support, and how do you support them? I work at the East Falls campus supporting the research needs of students, faculty, and researchers at the College of Architecture & the Built Environment (CABE). You may see me popping into a CABE class to teach information literacy and research skills, working on Gutman’s Materials Library, or at campus events since I oversee Gutman Library’s outreach efforts. I’m also available for one-on-one research consultation appointments! How can people contact you for help? You can send me an email at lauren.carter2@jefferson.edu -- I’m available for in-person or virtual appointments. What aspects of Jefferson motivated you to work here? I had been hoping to move to the East Coast from Phoenix for a few years now, and I was keeping an eye on job postings, and I was very excited to see this position open. Because I was a Health Sciences Librarian before accepting this position, Jefferson’s health emphasis felt familiar to my experience, but the focus on architecture is what made this a dream job for me. Looking over CABE’s website at the academic programs and the different research centers really sold me – I knew this is where I wanted to work. Luckily, it worked out! What subjects interest you within the College of Architecture and Built Environment? Everything really! I have a bachelor’s in sustainability, where I focused on the built environment, and I minored in landscape architecture, so the CABE programs in Sustainable Design, Urban Design – Future Cities, and, of course, Landscape Architecture really appeal to me. But really, I have an interest in aspects of every program at CABE. Some of my personal subject interests include biophilic design, public art, adaptive reuse, and environmental equity. Why did you become a librarian?I’ve always wanted a career where I could help people. During my undergrad, I worked at a library and really enjoyed helping students and faculty. As a student who really enjoyed research myself, I was drawn to how the librarians I worked with supported student research needs and taught vital information literacy skills. I started thinking maybe I’d go back to school later in life to become a librarian, perhaps as a second career (a popular path in this field). However, after graduating with my bachelor’s and taking a corporate job, I realized how much I missed working with students, so I decided to pursue librarianship sooner than I’d anticipated! Fun fact: A career test I took in high school ranked librarian as my #1 recommended career! Are there any resources/tools available to students that you are excited to share? If you haven’t already explored Gutman’s Materials Library on our main floor, it’s a pretty unique and interesting collection. We have over 2,000 samples of materials (glass, metal, wood, fabric, etc.) relevant to the maker-oriented disciplines here at East Falls available for you to browse and touch -- it’s a great place to come for inspiration for your next project! As I mentioned, I’ll be working to revamp the collection over the next year or so, so stay tuned for that. I also just learned that Jefferson’s New York Times subscription includes the games, so that’s a fun one also – I love Connections and the Spelling Bee. Outside of work, what do you do in your free time? I love to thrift, try new restaurants, go to concerts, and travel -- but honestly, most of the time I'm at home hanging out with my partner and our cat. My partner is a flameworker (a type of glass artist!) and because of that, I’ve recently been trying my hand at coldworking, specifically engraving -- I'm really inspired by glass and gem intaglios. What are your thoughts on working/living in Philadelphia? So, I mentioned that I have been wanting to move east of Arizona for a few years -- Philadelphia was actually my partner and I’s preferred location! It feels serendipitous how this all worked out – dream job, dream location... We’ve been here a few weeks and absolutely love it so far (even with the extreme heat!). We live near East Falls -- the abundance of greenery and nature with Wissahickon Valley Park, and the proximity to water with the Schuylkill River... it’s mind-blowing to us! You could never get any of this in Phoenix. We are also loving the walkability and access to public transit here. We’re looking forward to learning more about the city, the community, and experiencing our first real Autumn! :) ...

EBSCO’s New Interface