Academic Commons News - LibGuides at Thomas Jefferson University

Kits are available to borrow from Scott Library's Access Services Desk on the 2nd floor for three days at a time. Kits can be used anywhere on the Center City campus but should not be taken off campus.

Each kit includes:

Projector
HDMI cable
Power strip
Power cable
USB C HDMI adapter
Lightning HDMI adapter
Lightning cable

Projectors will connect to most laptops with HDMI, iPhones and iPads with Lightning ports, and devices with USB C video or Thunderbolt ports.

Many study rooms on campus are already configured to support projection. The following rooms are configured with a monitor on the wall, which can easily connect to your device:

10 group study rooms in Scott Library
Jefferson Alumni Hall (JAH) M21, M23, M24, and M25

In addition to projector kits, Scott Library can provide HDMI cables and device adapters that connect to a wide range of personal devices. To learn more about our tools to support group study, call us at (215) 503-6995 or email SML-circ@jefferson.edu.

Recent Posts

25 New eBooks this April: Topics include a Biography of Angela Davis, Social Anxiety, Architectural Research, etc.

Check out the 25 new titles we're adding to our digital shelves this month. Scan the titles below, or browse our complete eBook collections at the Dixon Library (on the Thomas Jefferson University – Horsham Campus), the Gutman Library (on the Thomas Jefferson University – East Falls Campus), and the Scott Library (on the Thomas Jefferson University – Center City Campus).Angela Davis: An Autobiography The Art of Medical Communication: Bringing the Humanities into Clinical PracticeCellular and Molecular ImmunologyCritical Conversations in Healthcare: Scripts & Techniques for Effective Interprofessional & Patient CommunicationDemystifying Architectural Research: Adding Value to Your PracticeThe Design of Everyday ThingsDiagnostic Pathology: Kidney DiseasesThe Everything War: Amazon's Ruthless Quest to Own the World and Remake Corporate PowerFashion History: A Global ViewGIS Tutorial for ArcGIS Pro 3.1Group Dynamics in Occupational Therapy: The Theoretical Basis and Practice Application of Group InterventionThe Longevity Imperative: How to Build a Healthier and More Productive Society to Support Our Longer LivesManaging Social Anxiety: A Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy ApproachMechanical VentilationNursing Ethics: Normative Foundations, Advanced Concepts, and Emerging IssuesOccupational Therapy Practice Guidelines for Individuals with Autism Spectrum DisorderPositive Psychology: The Science of Wellbeing and Human StrengthsPrinciples of Pulmonary MedicineQualitative Analysis Using NVivo the Five-Level QDA MethodRadiology in Global Health: Strategies, Implementation, and ApplicationsResearch Methods for the Architectural ProfessionStorytelling in Medicine: How Narrative Can Improve PracticeTeaching Cultural Competence and Cultural Humility in Medical Education: A Practical GuideThe War Below: Lithium, Copper, and the Global Battle to Power Our LivesA Writer's Toolkit for Occupational Therapy and Health Care Professionals: An Insider's Guide to Writing, Communicating, and Getting Published...

Video Projector Kits Available at Scott Library

If you're a student on the Thomas Jefferson University – Center City Campus looking for an easy way to display and share your videos, images, or notes for group study, check out the Scott Library's Video Projector Kits. Kits are available to borrow from Scott Library's Access Services Desk on the 2nd floor for three days at a time. Kits can be used anywhere on the Center City campus but should not be taken off campus. Each kit includes: ProjectorHDMI cablePower stripPower cableUSB C HDMI adapterLightning HDMI adapterLightning cableProjectors will connect to most laptops with HDMI, iPhones and iPads with Lightning ports, and devices with USB C video or Thunderbolt ports.Many study rooms on campus are already configured to support projection. The following rooms are configured with a monitor on the wall, which can easily connect to your device:10 group study rooms in Scott LibraryJefferson Alumni Hall (JAH) M21, M23, M24, and M25In addition to projector kits, Scott Library can provide HDMI cables and device adapters that connect to a wide range of personal devices. To learn more about our tools to support group study, call us at (215) 503-6995 or email SML-circ@jefferson.edu....

Watch for New Scholarly Integrity Notices from Cabells Predatory Reports When Finding Full Text

Updates to the Jefferson Libraries’ catalog now make spotting a predatory or problematic journal or article easier. You will now see a “Problematic Journal” message on a problematic full-text article or journal within the Jefferson Libraries’ catalog (left) or while using the LibKey Nomad browser extension (right). This update is thanks to Cabells Predatory Reports, which examines journals for misleading metrics, deceptive research, irregular publication practices, and other warning signs. Clicking the “Problematic Journal” text will take you to a page with more details regarding the problems and concerns related to the article or journal. Deceptive research and publishing practices compromise the integrity of the scholarly record, interfering with scientific progress and evidence-based practice. There has been an increased volume of problematic publications that fail to provide promised services, spread myths and disinformation, harm scholars’ reputations, and lead to distrust and resource misallocation. Visit the Jefferson Libraries Journal Evaluation Guide for tips on journal selection and tools for journal evaluation. If you have questions or would like to incorporate these topics into instruction sessions for your learners, please contact the Jefferson Libraries. ...

Celebrating Women’s History Month at Gutman Library: New Exhibit Highlights Edna Leonhardt, Textile Pioneer

Celebrate Women’s History Month with a new display, Textile Designs by Edna Leonhardt, at the Paul J Gutman Library on the Thomas Jefferson University – East Falls Campus. The display, curated by Ann Wilson, Special Collections Technician at Gutman Library, is up on the library’s Main Floor through April. The display showcases the creative work of Edna Leonhardt, a textile designer and the first woman in North America to own her own textile design firm. Edna Leonhardt was a 1923 textile design graduate of the Philadelphia School of Design for Women, now known as Moore College of Art. According to Moore College of Art, she was the first woman to design textiles for automobiles. The East Falls Archives & Special Collections provides a wealth of creative inspiration and educational opportunities for students, scholars, and professionals. Visit the collection at the Gutman Library and the Design Center to explore costumes, textiles, manuscripts, personal papers, and other materials of historical value that document the development of the textile industry.To learn more about Edna Leonhardt, visit Follow the Thread, a textile and costume history blog published by staff of the Design Center. Image of the display at Gutman Library. Image of the display at Gutman Library...