Librarian
Library Discovery
Be sure to use the library discovery search on the homepage to search for books and articles on your topic, along with the databases below.
Reference and Background Research Databases
- AccessScience This link opens in a new window
- CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides overviews and data for close to 200 countries. CountryWatch Reviews are in pdf format, and range from 50-100 pages in length. They include information on the country's history, economic, environmental and social climates, in addition to pressing contemporary issues. Reviews are updated every other year, or when a major event occurs. Access to international newswire stories are also available, and a one-year archive of news.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowContains full-text dictionaries, encyclopedias, reference books that can be searched using key words. Definitions, overview articles on a topic, or even pronunciation of medical terms.
Selected Ebooks
Natural Resource Management: Ecological Perspectives by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9783319997681Publication Date: 2019
How Culture Shapes the Climate Change Debate by Call Number: EBookISBN: 9780804795050Publication Date: 2015-03-01
Article Databases
These databases contain articles from a variety of publication types: magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window This database is part of the EBSCO system, and like ProQuest's Research Library database and its associated modules, Academic Search Premier is multi-disciplinary, and therefore a good place to get started with your research. There are links to the full text of many of the articles indexed.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window Includes environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects.
- Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window Supports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. Explore issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture, and more. Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more, Global Issues is updated daily and offers 250 country pages and more than 400 issue pages. Exclusive to Global Issues, more than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries provide background and guidance on significant topics like Food Security, Genocide, Human Rights, Extreme Weather, and more. Global Issues is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints for users with access to both resources.
- Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index This link opens in a new window Literature covering horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. Contains indexing and abstracting for over 500 core titles.
- Google Scholar for Jeffersonians This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar is a growing database of scholarly literature in all fields. It is problematic to search, since Google does not give specifics about dates covered, bibliographic sources, or currency of material. However, it is an easy starting point that may satisfy entry-level search needs. While Google Scholar is free to all users from the Google site, this link passes users through Jefferson's proxy server, so that Google will then display Jefferson links to subscribed full text, where available.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
"GreenFILE covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology."
- NewsBank This link opens in a new window
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni replaced LexisNexis Academic. It features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowQuality of Life section includes data on energy usage, transportation, access to parks, environmental hazards, etc.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window Searches the following ProQuest databases: ABI/Inform Collection, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, Design & Applied Arts Index, eBook Central, Historical New York Times newspaper, Global Newsstream, ProQuest Research Library and the Vogue Archive.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is Jefferson Libraries’ broadest literature database for nursing, life and health sciences. Scopus searches citations and abstracts of over 44,000 sources across a broad spectrum of sciences, medicine, social sciences and technology, journals, books, conference papers, and world patent literature. Alerts and individual profiles are available. Since 1996, Scopus has indexed the citations and references for each document, making it possible to track citations to individual documents and authors. A suite of article, journal and author metrics are available to analyze research impact.
- Statista This link opens in a new window Statista.com is a statistics portal with data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on a wide variety of industries including media, business, finance, politics, health and pharmaceuticals.