Victoria Bonelli - Access Services Assistant
Simone Clunie - Cataloging and Collection Management Librarian
Mare Jannicelli - Access Services Assistant
Janine Waters - Access Services Librarian
This guide will discuss our new Intersectional Feminism Collection.
This collection was created by Victoria Bonelli (Access Services Assistant) for her capstone project during the time she attended Drexel University for her MLIS degree. Simone Clunie (Cataloging and Collection Management Librarian), assisted in creating this collection by suggesting titles for the collection and purchasing the items for the collection. The decision to make this collection came from the overturning of Roe v. Wade and the rise of misogyny in younger generations due to the consistent and vast production of misogynistic media content targeted at young boys and men (e.g. Andrew Tate). The titles in this collection cover how racism, ableism, xenophobia, and homophobia combine with sexism in order to show how every woman is affected differently by societal discrimination.
Sexism: discrimination or devaluation based on a person's sex or gender (x)
Misogyny: hatred of, aversion to, or prejudice against women (x)
Misogynoir: the specific hatred, dislike, distrust, and prejudice directed toward Black women (x)
This collection can be accessed in the Paul J Gutman Library. It is located on the main floor of the library in the popular reading section. Please click on the pages 'Titles in Collection - Part 1' and 'Titles in Collection - Part 2' to see what books are currently in this collection.