Librarian
ARTstor
Check out our new image resources with over 1 million digital images!
Find Articles
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowThis database is part of the EBSCO system, and like ProQuest's Research Library database and its associated modules, Academic Search Premier is multi-disciplinary, and therefore a good place to get started with your research. There are links to the full text of many of the articles indexed.
- Art Index This link opens in a new windowAn art research database providing high-quality indexing for hundreds of national and international art journals, plus thousands of art dissertations. The index covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, some dating back to 1922. Also includes company and industry reports.
- Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Contents include: Advertising, packaging and product design, Architecture, Crafts, Ceramics, glass and jewelry, Industrial design, Graphic design, Fashion and textiles, Sustainable design, Furniture and interior design, Fiber arts
- Google Scholar for Jeffersonians This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar is a growing database of scholarly literature in all fields. It is problematic to search, since Google does not give specifics about dates covered, bibliographic sources, or currency of material. However, it is an easy starting point that may satisfy entry-level search needs. While Google Scholar is free to all users from the Google site, this link passes users through Jefferson's proxy server, so that Google will then display Jefferson links to subscribed full text, where available.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
"GreenFILE covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology."
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals, books: humanities, social sciences, sciences
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowCollection includes: business, health and medicine, history, literature & language, science & technology, social sciences, arts
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowThis collection of over 550 journal titles in full text includes the following collections: Communication & Media Studies Collection, Criminology Collection, Politics & International Relations Collection, Sociology Collection, Education Collection, Psychology Collection, Nursing & Public Health Collection, Management & Organization Studies Collection, Materials Science & Engineering Collection, Urban Studies & Planning Collection.
- SocINDEX with Full Text: This link opens in a new windowTopics include: gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
- Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Springer Nature Link offers over 1,200 journals in full text. In addition to biomedical journals, subjects include mathematics, linguistics, material sciences, computer science, law and many other fields.
Key Journals and Databases for Research and News
- Communications of the ACMresearch articles on human-computer interaction, emerging technologies, web standards, and computer science topics that underpin many digital design projects.
- Media Culture & Societyresearch articles on the social aspects of digital and Internet technologies (part of the Sage journals online collection). Covers the sociology of the media in general. Example themes are: online social networks; the nature of relationships online; video games and gaming in culture and society; and the experience of social groups (for instance, women) on the Web.
- Journal of Broadcasting and Electronic Mediaresearch articles with a broad media focus, encompassing the Web, television, and film. Example article titles: Islam in cyberspace : South Asian Muslims in America Log in; and: Examination of media channels and types as health information sources for adolescents.
- Internet Business Newsa monthly publication providing key insights into the commercial activities and benefits available through the Internet. Useful for researching new media markets, media companies (like Apple), and products.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni replaced LexisNexis Academic. It features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
- Pew Research Center's Internet and American Life Projectfeatures reports exploring the impact of the Internet on families, communities, work and home, daily life, education, health care and civic and political life.
- International Journal of DesignElectronic, open access. 2007 - present