LibGuides: FASHMGT Short Course Abroad: Country & Regional Information

Web Links for Country Information

Links to information on the free web

CIA World Factbook
more...less...
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
US Department of State Background Note: China
Brief information about China
Country Briefings from The Economist: China

Key Online Resources for Country Information

Consult these subject-specific resources for background information (PhilaU only)

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides overviews and data for close to 200 countries. CountryWatch Reviews are in pdf format, and range from 50-100 pages in length. They include information on the country's history, economic, environmental and social climates, in addition to pressing contemporary issues. Reviews are updated every other year, or when a major event occurs. Access to international newswire stories are also available, and a one-year archive of news.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
This collection of over 550 journal titles in full text includes the following collections: Communication & Media Studies Collection, Criminology Collection, Politics & International Relations Collection, Sociology Collection, Education Collection, Psychology Collection, Nursing & Public Health Collection, Management & Organization Studies Collection, Materials Science & Engineering Collection, Urban Studies & Planning Collection.
Project MUSE - Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Project Muse is a collection of journals covering the fields of literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Full-text of articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics (usually published more than 5 years ago). Also includes images, contributed archival collections, ebooks and the following primary source collections:
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni replaced LexisNexis Academic. It features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.