LibGuides: IT201: Learning With Technology: Library Resources & Online Searching Basics

Which Databases Should I Use For My Research?

Gutman Library has several online databases of information. If you aren't sure which databases might be best for your research topic, use this guide, which lists all our resources: Databases by Subject

Also, look at the Research Guides homepage, for specific guides aimed at your research topic area or degree program.

Commonly Used Online Systems & Article Databases

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints Covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more. Opposing Viewpoints is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Global Issues for users with access to both resources.
Credo Reference Contains full-text dictionaries, encyclopedias, reference books that can be searched using key words. Definitions, overview articles on a topic, or even pronunciation of medical terms.
ProQuest
Searches the following ProQuest databases: ABI/Inform Collection, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, Design & Applied Arts Index, eBook Central, Historical New York Times newspaper, Global Newsstream, ProQuest Research Library and the Vogue Archive.
Academic Search Premier
This database is part of the EBSCO system, and like ProQuest's Research Library database and its associated modules, Academic Search Premier is multi-disciplinary, and therefore a good place to get started with your research. There are links to the full text of many of the articles indexed.
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, some dating back to 1922. Also includes company and industry reports.
NewsBank

E-Journal Collections

Emerald Journals
Topics include: Accounting, finance and economics; Business; Engineering; Health and social care; Marketing.
JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Sources
Full-text of articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics (usually published more than 5 years ago). Also includes images, contributed archival collections, ebooks and the following primary source collections:
PsycARTICLES
Find full-text journal articles in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more.
SAGE Journals Online
This collection of over 550 journal titles in full text includes the following collections: Communication & Media Studies Collection, Criminology Collection, Politics & International Relations Collection, Sociology Collection, Education Collection, Psychology Collection, Nursing & Public Health Collection, Management & Organization Studies Collection, Materials Science & Engineering Collection, Urban Studies & Planning Collection.
ScienceDirect
A full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters. Jefferson subscribes to some, but not all content.
Springer Nature Link
Springer Nature Link offers over 1,200 journals in full text. In addition to biomedical journals, subjects include mathematics, linguistics, material sciences, computer science, law and many other fields.