Design, Engineering & Commerce Liaison Librarian
Find Journal Articles, Books, & More
"Everything" Search - the search box on Gutman Library's home page
When you need to research fashion merchandising, an excellent first step is to check our catalog. Searching "Everything" means searching for any source type (articles, books, ebooks, videos, conference proceedings, and more) across many of our 225+ subscription databases at once. You cannot ask our catalog a question, so brainstorm for keywords first and consider trying a Boolean logic search with AND, OR, or NOT.
Keywords to try: clothing and dress, clothing trade, fashion merchandising, merchandising, retail trade, visual merchandising, apparel industry
| Boolean Operator | Search Example | How does it work? |
|---|---|---|
| AND | sales AND "fashion merchandising" |
AND narrows a search by retrieving sources with all your terms Putting terms in quotation marks retrieves sources with those keywords next to each other |
| OR | influencer OR "social media" | OR broadens a search by finding sources with either term |
| NOT | marketing NOT print | NOT narrows a search by excluding sources with an unwanted term |
Key Database Resources
- Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window
Berg Fashion Library is now part of Bloomsbury Fashion Central. Bloomsbury Fashion Central provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. It includes the Berg Fashion Library, the Fashion Photography Archive, an extensive E-Book collection, an image bank, extra reference resources and more.
- Business of FashionTJU Libraries offer current fashion management students and faculty access to this resource. Please email the business librarian at AskGutman@jefferson.libanswers.com to be added to the subscriber list for this database.
- Color Association of the United States
**Vendor discontinued this site January 31, 2025**
Provides color forecasting trends and includes archived forecasting reports back to 1917 as well as a color index with over 25,000 color names. - Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Contents include: Advertising, packaging and product design, Architecture, Crafts, Ceramics, glass and jewelry, Industrial design, Graphic design, Fashion and textiles, Sustainable design, Furniture and interior design, Fiber arts
- Just Style This link opens in a new window
Since March 1999, just-style.com has developed into one of the most respected and fastest growing apparel, footwear and textile trade sites around. The site's unique content is produced and sourced by a network of correspondents and content partnerships, headed up by Leonie Barrie, former Editor of Clothing World magazine. This is a comprehensive source for news and feature articles about the industry. The content is searchable.
- Sourcing Journal This link opens in a new window
Industry news regarding the textile and retail apparel trade at a global scale.
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Content includes: textiles and dress, fashion history, gender studies, photography, marketing and advertising
- WGSN - World's Global Style Network This link opens in a new window
*Note: To download articles while off campus, log in HERE with your personal WGSN account.*
Fashion industry information including news, trend and style information, analysis of industry events, trade show information, catwalk photos from the latest fashion shows in major fashion capitals, city specific fashion information, and technical information on related textiles events. - WWD.com This link opens in a new window
This is an electronic, web-based version of the newspaper WWD. In addition to providing the full text of each daily issue, this database provides a searchable archive of the full text of all WWD issues back to 1994.
Business Databases that Cover the Apparel Industry
- Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Explore over 420,000 company profiles with expert analysis such as SWOT reports, financial statements, Refinitiv statistical data, market share, business rankings, case studies, company histories, and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets and more. Also includes insight into major markets with profiles of the world's countries and territories, and analysis of over 1,000 industries with MarketLine and Plunkett reports, competitive landscapes, and articles.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides industry insights & analyses, risk assessments, industry intelligence, market research. Topics include: business, economics, engineering, entrepreneurship, management, tourism, supply chain, marketing, trade
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, some dating back to 1922. Also includes company and industry reports.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprised of three databases: ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Topics include business and financial information, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competition environment.
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage is a comprehensive, professional source of proprietary analysis on industry trends, corporate activities, and investments. Includes S&P Industry Surveys, Stock Reports (S&P Equity Research), and now with Markets tab for drill downs to key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, etc. by sub-industry. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private and public companies.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni replaced LexisNexis Academic. It features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com is a statistics portal with data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on a wide variety of industries including media, business, finance, politics, health and pharmaceuticals.
- Value Line This link opens in a new window
An electronic, Web-based version of the venerable investor's publication, Value Line Investment Survey. However, the electronic version is much enhanced. In addition to supplying the traditional Value Line company and industry reports, a powerful stock/company screening tool is available. This makes Value Line Research Center an excellent tool for identifying companies according to a nice range of financial variables.
Professional Journals in Paper Held by the Library
The main floor of Gutman Library has an amazing collection of popular and professional magazines in print. Come enjoy the engaging experience of flipping their pages. We subscribe to:
Chain Store Age -- CWB (Childrenswear Buyer) -- Drapers -- EcoTextile -- Elle -- Footwear News -- Global Apparel Markets -- Harper's Bazaar -- Impressions -- Inside Fashion -- Intima -- JSN International -- Knitting International -- Knitting Trade Journal -- Linea Intima -- Melliand International -- Ragtrader -- SAZ Sport -- Selvedge -- Specialty Fabrics Review -- Technical Textiles International: TTI (with annual buyer's guide) -- Textile Fibre Forum -- Textile Network -- Textile Report -- Textile Trends -- Textile World -- View -- VM&SD: Visual Merchandising & Store Design -- Vogue -- WSA: Performance & Sports Materials -- WWD -- Zoom on Fashion Trends
Websites
- WindowsWearVisual database of retail and e-commerce
- Cotton IncorporatedFrom agricultural, fiber and textile research, market information and technical services, to advertising and public relations, fashion forecasts and retail promotions, we keep one goal in mind: To ensure that cotton remains the first choice among consumers in apparel and home products.
- Fashion TrendsetterFashion Trendsetter is a Design & Trend Office founded in 2003 by Senay Gokcen. FashionTrendsetter.com is an online fashion and color forecasting, trend reporting and news e-zine which serves up-to-date fashion information from the major trade fairs, trend reports and fashion forecasts.
- Visual Merchandising & Display AwardsBritish organization "celebrating the best in retail visual merchandising and display."
- Virtual Garment CenterGlobal community for the apparel and textile industries