"Everything" Search - the search box on Gutman Library's home page
When you need to research fashion history, an excellent first step is to check our catalog. Searching "Everything" means searching for any source type (articles, books, ebooks, videos, conference proceedings, and more) across many of our 225+ subscription databases at once. You cannot ask our catalog a question, so brainstorm for keywords first, then consider trying a Boolean logic search with AND, OR, or NOT.
Keywords to try: clothing and dress, costume, fashion, history, culture, accessories, designers, design
| Boolean Operator | Search Example | How does it work? |
| AND | "zoot suit" AND style |
AND narrows a search by retrieving sources with all your terms Putting terms in quotation marks retrieves sources with those keywords next to each other |
| OR | apparel OR clothing | OR broadens a search by finding sources with either term |
| NOT | 20th century NOT Deco | NOT narrows a search by excluding sources with an unwanted term |
300 collections composed of over 2 million images. These curated images have been rights-cleared for use in education and research — you are free to use them in classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly activities.
Berg Fashion Library is now part of Bloomsbury Fashion Central. Bloomsbury Fashion Central provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. It includes the Berg Fashion Library, the Fashion Photography Archive, an extensive E-Book collection, an image bank, extra reference resources and more.
Contents include: Advertising, packaging and product design, Architecture, Crafts, Ceramics, glass and jewelry, Industrial design, Graphic design, Fashion and textiles, Sustainable design, Furniture and interior design, Fiber arts
Steps to Create Your Account:
1) Visit the Fashion & Race Database account page
2) Create your account using your Jefferson email address
3) Check Jefferson email address for confirmation URL
Provides tools that expand the narrative of fashion history beyond the Western World. Scholars and industry professionals address fashion now and then to illuminate under-examined peoples and histories.
Create your account here: https://library.jefferson.edu/find/databases/fashionandrace2.cfm
Content includes: textiles and dress, fashion history, gender studies, photography, marketing and advertising
This is an electronic, web-based version of the newspaper WWD. In addition to providing the full text of each daily issue, this database provides a searchable archive of the full text of all WWD issues back to 1994.
Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion
by
