Science/Biology/Chemistry/Physics Guide

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is an online library of eBook reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including texts related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies.

Now called NatMed Pro.

Contains full-text dictionaries, encyclopedias, reference books that can be searched using key words. Definitions, overview articles on a topic, or even pronunciation of medical terms.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases, including Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, which is commonly referred to as "Trials" or "CENTRAL", Cochrane Systematic Reviews and Protocols, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.

Google Scholar is a growing database of scholarly literature in all fields. It is problematic to search, since Google does not give specifics about dates covered, bibliographic sources, or currency of material. However, it is an easy starting point that may satisfy entry-level search needs. While Google Scholar is free to all users from the Google site, this link passes users through Jefferson's proxy server, so that Google will then display Jefferson links to subscribed full text, where available.

While basic PubMed is free to all Internet users, this link adds blue "Jefferson" buttons to individual citations that connect to Jefferson journal subscriptions and document delivery services for full-text options. PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's own interface for MEDLINE and also includes PREMEDLINE (new citations which don't have their subject headings yet) and OLDMEDLINE (reaching back to the 1950s). Use it to identify journal articles on your biomedical topic.

Scopus is Jefferson Libraries’ broadest literature database for nursing, life and health sciences. Scopus searches citations and abstracts of over 44,000 sources across a broad spectrum of sciences, medicine, social sciences and technology, journals, books, conference papers, and world patent literature. Alerts and individual profiles are available. Since 1996, Scopus has indexed the citations and references for each document, making it possible to track citations to individual documents and authors. A suite of article, journal and author metrics are available to analyze research impact.

Springer Nature Link offers over 1,200 journals in full text. In addition to biomedical journals, subjects include mathematics, linguistics, material sciences, computer science, law and many other fields.

Now called NatMed Pro.