Government
- NIH RePORTERThe RePORT Expenditures and Results, RePORTER system, is an electronic tool that allows users to search a repository of both intramural and extramural NIH-funded research projects from the past 25 years and access publications since 1980, and patents resulting from NIH funding.
RePORTER includes information on research projects funded by the NIH as well as the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Administration for Children and Family (ACF), and U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA).
- Clinical Trials.govSearchable by disease, treatment, and trial facility details.To identify research at Jefferson, use the Advanced Search: Location: "Thomas Jefferson University"
- Congressionally Directed Medical Research Programs (CDMRP) Search AwardsDatabase of research projects funded by the Department of Defense CDMRP.
- CORDISThe European Union's Community Research and Development Information Service (CORDIS) includes a repository of EU-funded projects and results since 1990.
- CRIS (USDA)The U.S. Department of Agriculture's Current Research Information System (CRIS) reports ongoing and recently completed research projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry. Sunsets October 2024, replaced by NIFA Data Gateway.
- Europe PMC Grant FinderFind active and expired grants from the 28 Europe PMC funders with associated publications.
- Find Grants (HRSA)Find grants awarded by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) from 1999 - current. Use NIH RePORTER for older grants.
- Gateway to Research (UKRI)Find information about publicly funded projects from the Medical Research Council (MRC) and other UK research councils.
- National Institute of Food and Agriculture (USDA NIFA) Data GatewayThe Data Gateway enables users to find funding data, metrics, and information about research, education, and extension projects that have received grant awards from USDA NIFA.
- National Science Foundation Award SearchThis NSF funded research database allows users to query the NSF database by state, organization, NSF Program, and fiscal year, funding type and more.
- NIH - New resources to enhance your chance of K99 success! (NIA)Two sets of sample K99/R00 applications including initial unfunded and resubmitted funded applications.
- Office of Science Award Search (DoE)US Department of Energy grants, cooperative agreements, and interagency awards currently funded by the DOE Office of Science.
- Open GrantsOver 250 full proposals shared by researchers to help early career scientists write grants. Includes both successful and unsuccessful proposals to government and foundation funders.
- TAGGS (Tracking Accountability in Government Grants System) (DHHS Office of Grants)The TAGGS database is a central repository for grants awarded by the twelve DHHS Operating Divisions (OPDIVs).
Foundations
- Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new windowOn-site only. Ask a librarian to log you in.
Identify previously awarded grants and other background information on nearly 90,000 foundations and corporate donors.
- Candid's 990 FinderSearch for a foundation’s IRS 990PF filings (required for Independent and Community Foundations). Part III p.2 describes projects funded and their amounts.
- Crossref Funding DataIdentify journal articles resulting from a particular funder’s support.
- Jefferson Philanthropy - Department of Corporate & Foundation RelationsContact Jefferson's Office of Institutional Advancement. The Department of Corporate & Foundation Relations staff may already have a relationship with a foundation or provide support for a new relationship.
- Open GrantsOver 250 full proposals shared by researchers to help early career scientists write grants. Includes both successful and unsuccessful proposals to government and foundation funders.
- Philanthropy Network Greater Philadelphia MembersPhilanthropy Network Greater Philadelphia is a membership association for organizations and individuals active in philanthropy. Many of their members offer funding opportunities.
Identifying Funding From Journal Citations
Some citation databases include a field for grants that have funded the research reported by the article. You can search for a sponsor to see the types of projects they've funded in the past. Or search on your topic and look for this field to identify potential sources of funding.
The NIH guide to acronyms can translate which agencies funded the research. The grant number from these fields can be entered into a funded research database (such as NIH RePORTER) to find out more about the original grant application.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowIn PubMed, choose the Abstract format and look towards the bottom of the record for "Grants and funding."
Descriptive Name: Grants and Funding
Sample Entry:R01 DK 27121/DK/NIDDK NIH HHS/United States
Searchable Field Tag: [GR] - Ovid MEDLINE ALL This link opens in a new windowIn Ovid databases, request the "complete reference."
Descriptive Name: Grant Number
Sample Entry: R01 DK 27121 (NIDDK)
Searchable Field Tag: .no. - CINAHL - Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new windowCINAHL citations include a searchable text field for Grant Information [GI].
For example, searching for articles about maternal caregivers finds this record whose Grant Information field shows it was funded by grants from the National Institute of Nursing Research, the ONS Foundation, and the American Brain Tumor Association.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowFunding sponsors from the acknowledgment sections of documents are available from the refine results section of search results or search for a funder directly from the document or advanced search, which provide four fields:
Funding Information (FUND-ALL)
Funding Sponsor (FUND-SPONSOR)
Grant number (FUND-NO)
Sponsor Acronym (FUND-ACR)
PubMed Search on Funding Topics
Find additional literature on grants and funding in PubMed. Use this saved search strategy as a base and add your own keywords for your particular research or interest area:
Here are the five most recent articles from this search:
Loading ...
Funder Requirements
When you find and or accept funding, it is essential to understand the funder's requirements. For example:
- Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Open Access PolicyThe Gates Foundation requires "the unrestricted access and reuse of all peer-reviewed published research funded, in whole or in part, by the foundation, including any underlying data sets."
- Browse Article Sharing Requirements by Federal Agency (SPARC)When an investigator receives funding from a United States Federal Agency, various requirements exist for sharing the articles resulting from federally funded research. The Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition have curated a list of many of these agency requirements.
- Funder Requirements (OAPEN)Suppose you are receiving funds from a European funder. In that case, the Open Access Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN) website lists some of these requirements.
- Open Access Publishing (Academic Commons)The Scholarly Communications team at the Academic Commons can help you understand the Open Access requirements of your specific funder.