Research Guides: Health Sciences Major Guide: Health Sciences Home

About

This guide provides resources for Health Sciences majors.

Science Guides

Select a specialty below to view its in-depth guide:

Key Databases

AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine is a large full text collection of McGraw-Hill medical texts (including the Lange Series)and some other useful tools.

R2 Library
A searchable collection of textbooks in medicine, nursing and allied health disciplines.
CINAHL - Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature

The Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers for finding articles, dissertations and more. The database also includes information about consumer health, patient education, and health sciences librarianship. It uses a special controlled vocabulary which overlaps in some areas with PubMed’s Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Complete text for some articles and testing instruments are available online.

Google Scholar
Remote users: Use any Google Scholar link from a library page.. Once you log in and search, you see Full-Text@Gutman Library links to full-text content. No set-up required!
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases, including Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, which is commonly referred to as "Trials" or "CENTRAL", Cochrane Systematic Reviews and Protocols, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
Health Business Elite

This database provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. Topics covered include hospital management, hospital administration, marketing, human resources, computer technology, facilities management and insurance. Health Business Elite contains full-text content for nearly 600 journals such as H&HN: Hospitals & Health Networks, Harvard Business Review (available back to 1922), Health Facilities Management, Health Management Technology, Healthcare Financial Management, Marketing Health Services, Modern Healthcare, and many more. Some journals have full-text delays.
PsycINFO

The American Psychological Association produces PsycINFO for coverage of the international literature of psychology and related disciplines. PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports.
Scopus
Scopus is Jefferson Libraries’ broadest literature database for nursing, life and health sciences. Scopus searches citations and abstracts of over 44,000 sources across a broad spectrum of sciences, medicine, social sciences and technology, journals, books, conference papers, and world patent literature. Alerts and individual profiles are available. Since 1996, Scopus has indexed the citations and references for each document, making it possible to track citations to individual documents and authors. A suite of article, journal and author metrics are available to analyze research impact.

Public Health Resources

World Health Organization
Primary role is to direct and coordinate international health within the United Nations’ system. These are our main areas of work: Health systems, Promoting health through the life-course, Noncommunicable diseases, Communicable diseases, Corporate services, and Preparedness, surveillance and response.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
It is the mission of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) to enhance and protect the health and well-being of all Americans. We fulfill that mission by providing for effective health and human services and fostering advances in medicine, public health, and social services.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The CDC is one of the major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same.
Pennsylvania Department of Health
The Department of Health has touched every citizen in all parts of the Commonwealth. Through the use of community-based strategies, the Department of Health has successfully reduced the number of serious illnesses, injuries and deaths due to major health threats; tobacco-related diseases; infectious disease; and accidental injuries.
Philadelphia Department of Public Health
The mission of the Philadelphia Department of Public Health is to protect and promote the health of all Philadelphians and to provide a safety net for the most vulnerable.

Health Sciences Reference Materials

The American Heritage Dictionary of Medicine
Call Number: eBook

The American Heritage Dictionary of Medicine reflects the latest developments in medicine, with entries featuring newly approved medications, advances in genetics and immunology, recent changes in the terminology of diseases and syndromes, and new psychiatric classifications introduced in DSM-5.
Black's Medical Dictionary, 43rd ed. by Harvey Marcovitch
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9781472943071

Publication Date: 2017-10-24

A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.
Dictionary of Medical Terms
Call Number: eBook

Includes terms from British and international medical practice covering fields such as surgery, general practice, hospitals, clinics, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry and other specialisms. Also includes informal terms of the kind used between professionals or professionals and patients.
Encyclopedia of Health Services Research by Ross M. Mullner
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9781412951791

Publication Date: 2009

Investigate the relationship between the factors of cost, quality, and access to healthcare and their impact upon medical outcomes such as death, disability, disease, discomfort, and dissatisfaction with care.
A Handbook of Bioethics Terms by James B. Tubbs
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9781589012592

Publication Date: 2009

Intended primarily as a help for those facing unfamiliar terminology in their exploration of bioethics literature or in their participation in bioethics discourse.
Webster's New World Medical Dictionary
Call Number: eBook

Websterr's New World Medical Dictionary, Third Edition will help you understand and communicate your medical needs when it matters the most. Written by doctors and the experts at WebMD, this edition includes 8500 entries, including 500 new terms, a vitamin appendix, and a companion website to give you access to medical language.

Health Services Professional Development

Healthcare Occupations - Occupational Outlook Handbook
United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook, Healthcare Occupations
The National Association of Advisors for the Health Professions
The purpose of the Association is educational. NAAHP seeks to advance undergraduate advising for the health professions and serve as a resource for advisors who guide students preparing for a career in the health professions. PHILAU IS A MEMBER.