History

Historical local, regional, national and international news

Covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.

Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more. Opposing Viewpoints is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Global Issues for users with access to both resources.

Project Muse is a collection of journals covering the fields of literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Over 20,000 objects from Thomas Jefferson University are available on JSTOR, including the Textile and Costume Collection, the East Falls Historic Photo Archives, the Materials Library, and various historic collections that document the textile industry.

Three primary source collections are currently available on JSTOR and include select monographs, pamphlets, manuscripts, letters, oral histories, government documents, images, 3D models, spatial data, type specimens, drawings, paintings, and more:

• Global Plants
• 19th Century British Pamphlets
• Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
• World Heritage Sites: Africa

 

Note for off campus access:
Use link http://library.jefferson.edu/find/databases/women_social_us.cfm and then find database under MY COLLECTIONS drop-down menu.

Women and Social Movements in the United States is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history generally at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 94 document projects and archives with more than 3,750 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and almost 2,100 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. For more advanced work with the site you can access the online version of Notable American Women or the database on Commissions on the Status of Women separately

Note for off campus access:
Use link http://library.jefferson.edu/find/databases/women_social_international.cfm and then find database under MY COLLECTIONS drop-down menu.

Women and Social Movements, International is a landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how womens social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life. We will be adding regularly to the database to bring it to its final complement of 150,000 pages of documents.

Covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, including over 5,000 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. Reference content is offered alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. This resource is continuously updated.

Gale Literature Resource Center provides researchers with literary resources to support their literary responses, literary analysis, and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and interpretations are represented.

Researchers can find up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world. Brings together materials that support interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills. Researchers with a literature, history, arts, gender studies, or cultural studies focus can use this resource to analyze authors and works throughout time.

This database is part of the EBSCO system, and like ProQuest's Research Library database and its associated modules, Academic Search Premier is multi-disciplinary, and therefore a good place to get started with your research. There are links to the full text of many of the articles indexed.

Collection includes: business, health and medicine, history, literature & language, science & technology, social sciences, arts

Global Newsstream provides online access to the most respected national and regional newspapers from across the U.S. These titles offer researchers thorough coverage of local, national, and international events with journalistic balance and perspective.

Nexis Uni replaced LexisNexis Academic. It features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

This collection of over 550 journal titles in full text includes the following collections: Communication & Media Studies Collection, Criminology Collection, Politics & International Relations Collection, Sociology Collection, Education Collection, Psychology Collection, Nursing & Public Health Collection, Management & Organization Studies Collection, Materials Science & Engineering Collection, Urban Studies & Planning Collection.

Contains full-text dictionaries, encyclopedias, reference books that can be searched using key words. Definitions, overview articles on a topic, or even pronunciation of medical terms.