Librarian
Research Companion
A collection of modules covering the following writing questions:
Where do I start? How do I choose a topic? Where do I find information? How do I evaluate sources?
What counts as evidence? How do I write a thesis statement? How do I organize my argument?
How do I avoid plagiarism and find my own voice? What do I look for when I revise?
Click image above to access ProQuest Research Companion. Then create an account to track your progress.
Books
Occupational Therapy and Neurological Conditions by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781118936139Publication Date: 2016-03-22
Qualitative Research Methodologies for Occupational Science and Therapy by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780415828673Publication Date: 2014-11-26
Online Resources from Gutman Library
Here are some useful resources available via Gutman Library.
- PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence DatabasePEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database, a free database of over 41,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowThis database is part of the EBSCO system, and like ProQuest's Research Library database and its associated modules, Academic Search Premier is multi-disciplinary, and therefore a good place to get started with your research. There are links to the full text of many of the articles indexed.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window A collection of 50+ clinical and basic science textbooks, including classics such as Harrison's Principals of Internal Medicine. Tabs across the top provide easy access portals to information on drugs, diagnostic tests, patient handouts, video & audio, guidelines, and quick answers. Also provides information on Self-Assessments, USMLE preparation tips, sample questions, and Diagnosaurus for differential diagnosis.
- CINAHL - Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new windowThe Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers for finding articles, dissertations and more. The database also includes information about consumer health, patient education, and health sciences librarianship. It uses a special controlled vocabulary which overlaps in some areas with PubMed’s Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Complete text for some articles and testing instruments are available online.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases, including Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, which is commonly referred to as "Trials" or "CENTRAL", Cochrane Systematic Reviews and Protocols, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Find full-text journal articles in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window While basic PubMed is free to all Internet users, this link adds blue "Jefferson" buttons to individual citations that connect to Jefferson journal subscriptions and document delivery services for full-text options. PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's own interface for MEDLINE and also includes PREMEDLINE (new citations which don't have their subject headings yet) and OLDMEDLINE (reaching back to the 1950s). Use it to identify journal articles on your biomedical topic.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowThis collection of over 550 journal titles in full text includes the following collections: Communication & Media Studies Collection, Criminology Collection, Politics & International Relations Collection, Sociology Collection, Education Collection, Psychology Collection, Nursing & Public Health Collection, Management & Organization Studies Collection, Materials Science & Engineering Collection, Urban Studies & Planning Collection.
Resources and Tools from the Free Web
- Google Advanced SearchLimit to certain domains, for instance: .edu, .org, .mil, .gov
Use other advanced features of Google to improve your results!
- Google Scholar for Jeffersonians This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar is a growing database of scholarly literature in all fields. It is problematic to search, since Google does not give specifics about dates covered, bibliographic sources, or currency of material. However, it is an easy starting point that may satisfy entry-level search needs. While Google Scholar is free to all users from the Google site, this link passes users through Jefferson's proxy server, so that Google will then display Jefferson links to subscribed full text, where available.
Tutorials
Please look at these tutorials!
The Atomic Learning Tutorials are for PhilaU only: you will have to enter your network userid and password to view Atomic Learning.
- HoonuitUse Hoonuit to see tutorials for Word, PowerPoint, OpenOffice, and more!
- Tutorials for Online ResourcesThese pages have links to tutorial help for ProQuest (Health and Medical Complete), EBSCO (Academic Search Premier and more) and other online resources from Gutman Library