LibGuides: Strategic Leadership: Library Resources

Key Databases

These online databases are only available to current students, faculty and staff of the University. If you are connecting from off-campus, you will have to authenticate yourself against the proxy server. (PhilaU only)

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, some dating back to 1922. Also includes company and industry reports.
Emerald Journals This link opens in a new window
Topics include: Accounting, finance and economics; Business; Engineering; Health and social care; Marketing.
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Explore over 420,000 company profiles with expert analysis such as SWOT reports, financial statements, Refinitiv statistical data, market share, business rankings, case studies, company histories, and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets and more. Also includes insight into major markets with profiles of the world's countries and territories, and analysis of over 1,000 industries with MarketLine and Plunkett reports, competitive landscapes, and articles.
NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage is a comprehensive, professional source of proprietary analysis on industry trends, corporate activities, and investments. Includes S&P Industry Surveys, Stock Reports (S&P Equity Research), and now with Markets tab for drill downs to key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, etc. by sub-industry. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private and public companies.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window Find full-text journal articles in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
This collection of over 550 journal titles in full text includes the following collections: Communication & Media Studies Collection, Criminology Collection, Politics & International Relations Collection, Sociology Collection, Education Collection, Psychology Collection, Nursing & Public Health Collection, Management & Organization Studies Collection, Materials Science & Engineering Collection, Urban Studies & Planning Collection.
Statista This link opens in a new window Statista.com is a statistics portal with data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on a wide variety of industries including media, business, finance, politics, health and pharmaceuticals.
Value Line This link opens in a new window
An electronic, Web-based version of the venerable investor's publication, Value Line Investment Survey. However, the electronic version is much enhanced. In addition to supplying the traditional Value Line company and industry reports, a powerful stock/company screening tool is available. This makes Value Line Research Center an excellent tool for identifying companies according to a nice range of financial variables.

Frequently Used Resources: Use These Too!

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This database is part of the EBSCO system, and like ProQuest's Research Library database and its associated modules, Academic Search Premier is multi-disciplinary, and therefore a good place to get started with your research. There are links to the full text of many of the articles indexed.
Google Scholar for Jeffersonians This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a growing database of scholarly literature in all fields. It is problematic to search, since Google does not give specifics about dates covered, bibliographic sources, or currency of material. However, it is an easy starting point that may satisfy entry-level search needs. While Google Scholar is free to all users from the Google site, this link passes users through Jefferson's proxy server, so that Google will then display Jefferson links to subscribed full text, where available.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals, books: humanities, social sciences, sciences
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni replaced LexisNexis Academic. It features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Software

Name: NVivo
Platform(s): Windows,Mac
Description: NVivo is software that organizes and analyzes qualitative data. It is primarily used by qualitative researchers working with very rich text-based and/or multimedia information, where deep levels of analysis on small or large volumes of data are required. NVivo may be downloaded for use by Jefferson students, faculty, and staff for use on their own computers. Login at https://library-jefferson-edu.proxy1.lib.tju.edu/tech/nvivo/ for a download link and instructions. Call 215-503-8407 for installation help.
Categories: GIS/Statistics ,Document Editing
Tags: qualitative analysis

Name: SPSS (Statistical Package for the Social Sciences)
Platform(s): Windows,Mac
Description: SPSS is a computer program used for statistical analysis, data management, and data documentation. It enables users to quickly and easily discover new insights from data, test hypotheses, and build powerful predictive models. SPSS may be downloaded for use by Jefferson students, faculty, and staff for use on their own computers. Login at https://library-jefferson-edu.proxy1.lib.tju.edu/tech/spss/ with your Campus Key for a download link and instructions. Call 215-503-8407 for installation help.
Categories: GIS/Statistics
Tags: PASW, data

Sources for Case Studies

CaseBase: Case Studies in Global Business
Covers business case studies focused on issues in emerging markets and emerging industries across the globe.
Harvard Business Review
Select "Search within this publication" and add "case study" to the search box.

Project Management: Case Studies by Harold Kerzner
Call Number: Reserve 658.404 K41p2
ISBN: 0471751677
Publication Date: 2006-01-03
Design Is How It Works by Jay Greene
Call Number: 658.5752 G811d
ISBN: 9781591843221
Publication Date: 2010-07-29

Selected Books

The Art of Strategic Leadership by Steven J. Stowell; Stephanie S. Mead
ISBN: 9781119213055
Publication Date: 2016-03-07
Strategic Leadership by John Eric Adair; John Adair
Call Number: EBook
ISBN: 0749462043
Publication Date: 2010-10-03
Strategic Leadership Across Cultures by Robert J. House; Mary F. Sully de Luque; Peter W. Dorfman; Mansour Javidan; Paul J. Hanges
Call Number: 658.4092 H842s 2014
ISBN: 9781412995948
Publication Date: 2013-08-13

Guides to Research

Perdue OWL (Online Writing Lab) guide to conducting and using research
These OWL resources will help you conduct research using primary source methods, such as interviews and observations, and secondary source methods, such as books, journals, and the Internet. This area also includes materials on evaluating research sources.

HowtoFindInformation:aGuideforResearchers by Sally Rumsey
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 0335235549
Publication Date: 2008-04-01