Librarian
Databases
Textile/Fabric Design Sources
- Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Contents include: Advertising, packaging and product design, Architecture, Crafts, Ceramics, glass and jewelry, Industrial design, Graphic design, Fashion and textiles, Sustainable design, Furniture and interior design, Fiber arts
- WGSN - World's Global Style Network This link opens in a new window
*Note: To download articles while off campus, log in HERE with your personal WGSN account.*
Fashion industry information including news, trend and style information, analysis of industry events, trade show information, catwalk photos from the latest fashion shows in major fashion capitals, city specific fashion information, and technical information on related textiles events.
- Textile and Costume CollectionAt Thomas Jefferson University's East Falls Campus Design Center, The Textile and Costume Collection is a remarkably diverse and wide-ranging museum-quality collection used for teaching, inspiration, research, and scholarship. The collection's holdings reflect a broad spectrum of design, cultures and historic periods.
- Textile Hive This link opens in a new window
*Note: At this time, Textile Hive is not available off-campus.*
Users must create a free account while on campus; log-in is required for each new user session.
A global collection of 40,000 textiles gathered from over 50 countries and spanning 200 years of design history, photographed in high-resolution format for remarkable detail, texture and color accuracy, and enriched with detailed contextual information. Users can browse and create collections of textiles, colors, and patterns from the Andrea Aranow Textile Design Collection. - World Textile Information Network (WTiN) This link opens in a new window
Textile manufacturing news and analysis provided via a group of journals: Digital Textile, Future Textile, International Dyer, Knitting International, Nonwovens Report International, Twist, and Textile 4.0.
- World Textiles This link opens in a new window
Provides international coverage of scientific, trade, technical and economic publications, this bibliographic database covers decades of information relating to developments and innovations in the textile industry.
Selective Sample of the Design Books Available in the Library
Bloom: a horti-cultural view, earth matters by Call Number: 745.9 B655 2018 no. 24Publication Date: 2022In this issue of Bloom, we explore artisans and scrutinize artists, visit farms and look at new ingredients such as banana fiber and old recipes including paper and felt.
Textile Design Theory in the MakingISBN: 9781350061590Publication Date: 2020This book explores how textile design bridges the decorative and the functional, and takes us from handcrafting to industrial manufacture.
Skinner, Tina by Call Number: 677.02864 S628aColor illustrations from a wide range of fabric collections from Europe and the United States.
Schiffer, 1998
Dating Fabrics by Call Number: R746.460973 T799dUtilizes various examples of fabric designs from 1800 to 1960 arranged by color.
American Quilter's Society, 1998.
Shelved in the Reference Section.
World Textile Collections : 6 Abstract patternCall Number: 746.041 A146pDesigned as a source book for graphic, commercial, and industrial designers.
Kyoto Shoin, 1992
