Librarian
Finding Plans and Drawings
Click to get help finding plans and drawings:
Useful Websites
- City of PhiladelphiaCheck out the Art and Historical Indexes
- US Green Building CouncilTry searching here for LEED projects.
Useful Journals
- Architectural DigestElectronic: 2008 - present
Print: 1947 - present - Architectural RecordElectronic: 1992 - present
Print: 1934-1936; 1945 - present - Journal of Green BuildingElectronic: 2006 - present
Print: 2006 - 2010 - Landscape ArchitecturePrint: 1991 - present
- Landscape JournalElectronic: 1982 - present
Print: 1981 - present - Landscape ResearchElectronic: 1997 - present
Print: 2003 - present - MetropolisPrint: 1981 - present
- SustainabilityElectronic: 2005 - present
- The Architectural ReviewElectronic: 1994 - present
Print: 1974-1979; 1988 - present - Urban Affairs ReviewElectronic: 1999 - present
Print: 2000-2009 - Urban Land (Urban Land Green)Print only: 2000, 2003 - present
Find Books
If you would like to browse, most Urban Design books are located in the 700s. Here are some areas to get you started.
710 Civic & landscape art
711 Area planning (Civic art)
712 Landscape architecture
713 Landscape architecture of trafficways
Find Articles
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowThis database is part of the EBSCO system, and like ProQuest's Research Library database and its associated modules, Academic Search Premier is multi-disciplinary, and therefore a good place to get started with your research. There are links to the full text of many of the articles indexed.
- Art Index This link opens in a new windowAn art research database providing high-quality indexing for hundreds of national and international art journals, plus thousands of art dissertations. The index covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
300 collections composed of over 2 million images. These curated images have been rights-cleared for use in education and research — you are free to use them in classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly activities.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowContent includes: Archaeology, Architecture, Architectural design, City planning, Furniture and decoration, Historic preservation, History of architecture, Interior design, Landscape architecture
- Building Codes and Standards This link opens in a new window
This is part of MadCad and provides full text access to a selection of building codes and standards from ICC, ASTM, NFPA and more. When searching, select "Subscribed Books" to limit to full text access.
- BuildingGreen This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials. Shares expertise and lessons learned from design experts working in the field. Builds context for sustainable design strategies and what makes a building product or material green.
- Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Contents include: Advertising, packaging and product design, Architecture, Crafts, Ceramics, glass and jewelry, Industrial design, Graphic design, Fashion and textiles, Sustainable design, Furniture and interior design, Fiber arts
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects.
- Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index This link opens in a new windowLiterature covering horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. Contains indexing and abstracting for over 500 core titles.
- Google Scholar for Jeffersonians This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar is a growing database of scholarly literature in all fields. It is problematic to search, since Google does not give specifics about dates covered, bibliographic sources, or currency of material. However, it is an easy starting point that may satisfy entry-level search needs. While Google Scholar is free to all users from the Google site, this link passes users through Jefferson's proxy server, so that Google will then display Jefferson links to subscribed full text, where available.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
"GreenFILE covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology."
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals, books: humanities, social sciences, sciences