Academic Commons News - Research Guides at Thomas Jefferson University

The Textile & Costume Collection invites you to a special unveiling of a new student -curated exhibit: The Lingerie Dress on Thursday, September 25, at 12:30pm, in Hayward Hall 113.

This event is more than an exhibit—it’s a celebration of student research and dedication. For the past three and a half years, Elissa Lopez, a student worker in the Textile & Costume Collection, worked tirelessly cataloging, photographing, and researching this unique group of garments. Her efforts have culminated in a digital archive and physical exhibit that bring these pieces to life for the Jefferson audience.

The lingerie dress was a garment worn by women primarily between the 1890s and 1920s, often layered, laced, and handmade. These gowns embody a transitional period in women’s fashion.

Please join us on Thursday, September 25 from 12:30 to 1:30pm in Hayward Hall 113 for:

🎤 A brief presentation by Elissa: “What is a Lingerie Dress?”
🍪Light refreshments
🧵 The exhibit unveiling of our digitized lingerie dress collection

Whether you're interested in fashion, history, or simply want to support the work of one of our student researchers, this event offers a glimpse into the past—and a moment to appreciate the students and future professionals in the field.

All are welcome!

Read more about the lingerie dress on the Textile & Costume Collection's blog: followthethreadblog.com

Recent Posts

Discover the Beauty of the Past at “The Lingerie Dress” Exhibit Opening on September 25

The Textile & Costume Collection invites you to a special unveiling of a new student -curated exhibit: The Lingerie Dress on Thursday, September 25, at 12:30pm, in Hayward Hall 113. This event is more than an exhibit—it’s a celebration of student research and dedication. For the past three and a half years, Elissa Lopez, a student worker in the Textile & Costume Collection, worked tirelessly cataloging, photographing, and researching this unique group of garments. Her efforts have culminated in a digital archive and physical exhibit that bring these pieces to life for the Jefferson audience.The lingerie dress was a garment worn by women primarily between the 1890s and 1920s, often layered, laced, and handmade. These gowns embody a transitional period in women’s fashion. Please join us on Thursday, September 25 from 12:30 to 1:30pm in Hayward Hall 113 for:🎤 A brief presentation by Elissa: “What is a Lingerie Dress?”🍪Light refreshments🧵 The exhibit unveiling of our digitized lingerie dress collectionWhether you're interested in fashion, history, or simply want to support the work of one of our student researchers, this event offers a glimpse into the past—and a moment to appreciate the students and future professionals in the field.All are welcome!Read more about the lingerie dress on the Textile & Costume Collection's blog: followthethreadblog.com...

Introducing Laura DeLoretta: Editor in the Academic Commons Office for Professional Writing, Publishing, & Communication (OPWPC)

We’re excited to welcome Dr. Laura DeLoretta to the Office for Professional Writing, Publishing, & Communication within the Academic Commons, where she’ll be a key resource for Jefferson researchers looking to sharpen their professional communication and publish impactful work. In this staff spotlight, Laura shares her career journey, how she hopes to contribute to Jefferson’s research community, and a few personal interests. Take a moment to get to know Laura. You have an interesting background! Prior to joining Jefferson as an editor in the OPWPC, you worked as a researcher in developmental psychology & emotional regulation. Can you share a bit about your journey from research to community outreach and scholarly communications?Yes! I earned my PhD in developmental psychology from the University of California Riverside where I studied emotion regulation. Spending time with children and families in the research lab showed me how essential science communication and community outreach are. So, in addition to publishing my research for academic audiences, I pursued other opportunities to share my research with broader audiences like children, parents, and community members. Whether through a peer-reviewed journal article or social media post, I care deeply about making science accessible and meaningful. How are you settling into your role as an editor in the OPWPC? What drew you to this position?I’m really enjoying my new role! My background in research combined with my passion for mentorship drew me toward consulting and scholarly communication. Editing manuscripts reminds me of solving a puzzle, and I get a lot of satisfaction from helping writers to get their ideas published. How do you envision your experience with conducting research and publishing will help support your new role? As an emotions researcher, I know firsthand that research, writing, and publishing are emotional endeavors! Null findings and rejections are all part of academic life, and persistence is key. Having been through it myself, I hope to help clients manage the emotional barriers to writing, like impostor syndrome, procrastination, and writer’s block. Writing and publishing are difficult enough, and I hope to make the process easier and more empowering!What types of work and projects can you assist Jefferson faculty and researchers with?I can support every part of the writing process—writing grants, getting a manuscript started, copy editing, responding to reviewer comments, and preparing presentations. I can also provide feedback on public speaking and other forms of scholarly communication! What’s the best way for colleagues to reach out to you for collaboration or consultation?I can be reached via email (laura.deloretta@jefferson.edu) or by scheduling a consultation on the Academic Commons website. Are there particular types of projects or research areas you’re especially eager to get involved with? I’m especially excited to support projects for broader audiences, such as the three-minute thesis presentations, editorial pieces, or visual abstracts. I also welcome opportunities to work on projects related to emotions, child development, and psychology, which are close to my heart.When you're not immersed in editing a manuscript or providing communications feedback, what do you enjoy doing to unwind or recharge?When I’m not working, you can find me on my South Philly roof deck soaking up the sun (something I definitely miss about SoCal), listening to an audiobook, and crocheting. I’m an introvert, so I rely on quiet time to recharge. I am also a proud pet parent to a cat (Pepper) and a dog (Toby) and cuddling with them is another one of my favorite ways to unwind. Any favorite books, podcasts, or hobbies that keep you inspired outside of work?I’m an avid reader and journaler, and I occasionally write creative fiction. I find that immersing myself in words keeps me inspired—if I can’t write, I read. My library holds list is packed with fantasy, thrillers, sci-fi, historical fiction, and non-fiction (usually memoirs or psychological theory). Piranesi comes to mind as a story that perfectly encapsulates the fantastical and sometimes heart-breaking life of an observer, scientist, and writer. ...

Tune In: Episode 4 of The Learning Curve Podcast – Interactive Strategies & Foundational Skills with Dr. Anita Fennessey

We’re excited to share episode 4 of The Learning Curve, a teaching and learning podcast produced by the Instructional Designers in the Academic Commons. In Episode 4: "Interactive Strategies & Foundational Skills", we sit down with Dr. Anita Fennessey, DrNP, RN, CNE, Assistant Professor in the College of Nursing, to explore innovative ways to engage students and build essential, foundational skills in the classroom. Why You Should ListenDr. Fennessey brings energy, insight, and practical ideas to this episode as she discusses how she uses interactive strategies to make learning dynamic and impactful. Whether you're new to active learning or looking for new tools to freshen up your approach, this episode is full of takeaways you can apply right away.What You’ll Learn:How to use tools like Nearpod to make learning fun, competitive, and engagingWays to promote active learning with group work and collaborative case studiesTips for creating a safe learning environment where students feel comfortable participating and making mistakesBalancing technology in the classroom—using it meaningfully while keeping students focusedNeed support implementing these strategies in your own classroom? The Instructional Designers in the Academic Commons are here to help! Reach out to explore how you can bring more engagement, creativity, and collaboration into your teaching. Check out previous episodes on The Learning Curve page. Happy listening!...

Staff Spotlight: Meet Tajinnea Wilson, Instructional Design Specialist

We’re thrilled to introduce Tajinnea (Taj) Wilson, who recently joined the Academic Commons in the Instructional Design team as an Instructional Design Specialist. With a background in education and a passion for inclusive learning and learning through diversity, Taj brings a thoughtful and student-centered approach to course design. She’s excited to collaborate with Jefferson faculty to create more accessible and engaging learning experiences across the university.Read on to learn more about Taj, her journey to Jefferson, and how she can support your teaching.When did you join the Academic Commons and what is your role?I joined the Academic Commons August 11, 2025, as an Instructional Design Specialist.Can you tell us a bit about your journey—how did you end up becoming an Instructional Design Specialist at Jefferson?I have worked in education for six years, and my favorite aspect has always been the creative process of making learning engaging. Previously, I was a teacher, and after leaving the classroom, I chose to pursue a career in higher education and learning experience design.You have a focus and interest on inclusive learning and learning‑through‑diversity (LTD). Can you explain those concepts a bit? How can you help faculty work those these teaching & learning topics?For me, inclusive learning is about serving all learners. It requires us to create educational experiences that ensure everyone feels represented, respected, and supported in their learning environment. It acknowledges the diverse backgrounds, perspectives, and the needs of each individual and removes any barriers that may limit access to learning. As for learning through diversity (LTD), this goes a step further by recognizing diversity itself as a powerful learning resource. It encourages educators and learners to engage with different perspectives, experiences, and identities as part of the learning process. Looking through that kind of lens means diversity is not just accommodated but leveraged to deepen understanding, critical thinking, and empathy.Ultimately, my goal is to help faculty see inclusive learning and LTD not as add-ons, but as integral to effective teaching and student success.How can you support faculty at Jefferson? How can they contact you?I look forward to partnering with faculty to translate their expertise into student-centered, accessible, and impactful learning experiences. I can be contacted via email at tajinnea.wilson@jefferson.edu. Outside of instructional design, what hobbies or creative pursuits help you recharge?Outside of instructional design, I enjoy painting, writing, and cooking. I also have a three-year-old cat named Koku who keeps me busy most days, as he requires extra attention from me every day....