Business

Programmatic access to global financial and economics statistics for quantitative research and machine learning model development. A free, open access resource.

Stock quotes and company financial statements

Financial and economic data and news from Dow Jones

Investment research including a stock screening tool, financial statements, and more

Stock investing and stock market research

Data for tracking the U.S. economy from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

Business and investor information about markets, stocks, funds, EFTs, and bonds

"A world of information," with statistical tables by country (area) and by topic

also available in Gutman Library's reference collection at R332.033 U5848y

also available in Gutman Library's reference collection at R338.09 U58yi

"The United Nations Comtrade database aggregates detailed global annual and monthly trade statistics by product and trading partner for use by governments, academia, research institutes, and enterprises. Data compiled by the United Nations Statistics Division covers approximately 200 countries and represents more than 99% of the world's merchandise trade. Information can be extracted in a variety of formats, including API developer tools for integration into enterprise applications and workflows. Subscribers receive access to additional functionality to improve efficiency and specificity."

"The UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics 2021 provides a wide range of statistics and indicators relevant to the analysis of international trade, investment, maritime transport and development."

"The leading source of labour statistics"

"Your source for global business knowledge" from Michigan State University

From ALA/ BRASS Best of the Best Business Reference Websites award: "Designed to provide corporate counsels with general information about legal and business infrastructures around the world, LexMundi’s 100+ country guides are authored by its member law firms and freely available in PDF format. These guides are excellent introductions to international business law for non-experts. Often stretching more than 100 pages, LexMundi guides address country-specific immigration, anti-trust and mergers, intellectual property, and labor laws, among many other topics."

country profiles

These reports provide "up-to-date information on the investment climates of more than 165 countries and economies...that are current or potential markets for U.S. businesses of all sizes." See also country fact sheets and bilateral economic relations reports.

"benchmarking the business environment and investment climate in most economies worldwide"

"The premier source of free U.S. trade & tariff data"

U.S. export, import, global merchandise trade, and trade balance information from the U.S. International Trade Administration

global product classification system for classifying traded products and for exporting goods

import and export of goods and services

Annual ranking of the world's largest companies

From ALA/ BRASS Best of the Best Business Reference websites: "This "weekly newsletter of useful/curious datasets" has grown significantly over the last decade. First published in 2015, its archive (in spreadsheet format) has become a go-to tool when searching for datasets. Developed by Jeremy Singer-Vine, a data editor and reporter, he describes each dataset under 100 words succinctly and relationally, with links to access these open datasets. It includes hat tips pointing us to who suggested or discovered the dataset."

Resources gathered by business librarians' professional organization