Historical Archives
TimesMachine - A browser-based digital replica of all issues from 1851 to 2002. Registered users through group subscriptions are able to download 5 PDFs per day, with unlimited browsing.
The New York Times Article Archive - Accessible via search, the archive provides partial and full-text digital versions of articles from 1851 to today and redirects to TimesMachine where applicable.
Historical New York Times database via ProQuest - Full-text searchable page-images of the Times published edition from 1851-2015.
NYT inEducation
- inEducationinEducation is the New York Times tailored for your classroom and your students. This is a resource for educators with curated summaries designed to help you connect what's happening in the news to discipline.
Areas of study include American Government, Arts & Visual Culture, Biology, Business, Campaigns & Elections, Criminal Justice, Environmental Sciences, International Relations, Leadership, Economics, Nursing & Health, Psychology, Religious Studies, Sociology, and Writing & English Composition.
The Learning Network
- Learning NetworkThe Learning Network is The New York Times's award-winning curricular tool offering Activities for Students and Resources for Teachers. Via features like writing prompts, contests, discussion forums and lesson plans, the site provides fresh opportunities daily for students to both learn more about what's happening in the news and raise their voices in response to it.
- Teaching IdeasThe Learning Network publishes hundreds of teaching resources each school year. These resources all use content from The New York Times — articles, essays, images, videos, graphics and podcasts — as teaching tools across subject areas.
- Resources for Teaching and LearningRegular daily and weekly features run from September through May, with special resources published throughout the summer. The
The intended audience is middle and high school teachers and students (age 13 and up). Content is also used in elementary schools and colleges, and much of it is appropriate for both. All resources are free — and everything linked to in The Times is free as well, as long as you access it from the site. You do not need a Times subscription to use The Learning Networ