Some suggested titles
Understanding Research in Clinical and Counseling Psychology by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780805836714Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Qualitative Research in Counselling and Psychotherapy by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781849206655Publication Date: 2001-01-02
Evidence-Based Outcome Research : A Practical Guide to Conducting Randomized Controlled Trials for Psychosocial Interventions by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780198041450Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Resources
APA handbook of research methods in psychology, 2012, Washington, DC, US: American Psychological Association.
The three-volume APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology features descriptions of many techniques that psychologists and others have developed to help them pursue a shared understanding of why humans think, feel, and behave the way they do. At the broadest level, when choosing a method you make decisions about (a) what data or measurement techniques will best capture the thoughts, feelings, and behaviors that interest you; (b) what research design best fits the question that you want to answer; and (c) what strategies for data analysis best match the characteristics of your design and measurements. The simplest choice for organizing the presentation of material is the temporal sequence in which you will make these decisions. This is roughly what we have done (PsycINFO Database Record (c) 2014 APA, all rights reserved).
APA handbook of research methods in psychology, Vol 1: Foundations, planning, measures, and psychometrics. by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2012So, the earliest chapters in Volume 1, Parts I and II, address the broadest questions related to research designs. These involve both (a) which research designs are most appropriate for which question and (b) how to think about the ethicality and feasibility of the designs that address your question and the measures available to you. Next, the chapters in Volume 1, Parts III and IV, describe the types of data that psychologists most often collect and how to determine whether the measurement techniques that you might choose are the best ones for your purpose. (PsycINFO Database Record (c) 2014 APA, all rights reserved)
APA handbook of research methods in psychology, Vol 2: Research designs: Quantitative, qualitative, neuropsychological, and biological. by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2012In Volume 2, interpretive research designs that emphasize a qualitative approach are detailed in Part I. Volume 2, Parts II through VI, introduces designs that emphasize an etic (or theory-specified), more quantitative approach to research. In Volume 2, Part V, designs are introduced that focus on theory-testing questions, rely heavily on quantification, and are used to study change in individual units. The designs in Volume 2, Part VI, are labeled “Neuropsychology” and “Biological Psychology.” Here you will find designs for theory-driven research that derive largely from the more biological end of psychology’s family tree. (PsycINFO Database Record (c) 2014 APA, all rights reserved)
APA handbook of research methods in psychology, Vol 3: Data analysis and research publication. by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2012Chapters on techniques for data analysis are found in Volume 3, Part I, with special attention to the fit between design, measurement, and analysis. Finally, issues and choices you must consider when you write up your research to share with the community of psychologists are discussed in the handbook’s concluding chapters, in Volume 3, Part II. (PsycINFO Database Record (c) 2014 APA, all rights reserved)
