LibGuides: Athletic Training: Finding Articles

Recommended Databases

AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
AccessPhysiotherapy provides PT students with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading physical therapy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning, and allows physical therapists to brush up on their knowledge or access quick answers as the need arises.

Visit the User Resources Guide for navigation tips and additional information.
CINAHL - Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers for finding articles, dissertations and more. The database also includes information about consumer health, patient education, and health sciences librarianship. It uses a special controlled vocabulary which overlaps in some areas with PubMed’s Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Complete text for some articles and testing instruments are available online.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases, including Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, which is commonly referred to as "Trials" or "CENTRAL", Cochrane Systematic Reviews and Protocols, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
F.A. Davis Athletic Training Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for athletic training education. F.A. Davis AT Collection includes texts which are searchable and continuously updated. Access Multimedia on Examination of Orthopedic and Athletic Injuries, Exercise Physiology and more. Includes Modalities & Pharmacology Cases, and Review Questions on Sports Nutrition & Board Certification. The F.A. Davis AT Collection is available on the same digital platform as McGraw-Hill Education’s AccessPhysiotherapy.

Visit the User Guide for content overview and additional information.
Google Scholar for Jeffersonians This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a growing database of scholarly literature in all fields. It is problematic to search, since Google does not give specifics about dates covered, bibliographic sources, or currency of material. However, it is an easy starting point that may satisfy entry-level search needs. While Google Scholar is free to all users from the Google site, this link passes users through Jefferson's proxy server, so that Google will then display Jefferson links to subscribed full text, where available.
Health Business Elite This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. Topics covered include hospital management, hospital administration, marketing, human resources, computer technology, facilities management and insurance. Health Business Elite contains full-text content for nearly 600 journals such as H&HN: Hospitals & Health Networks, Harvard Business Review (available back to 1922), Health Facilities Management, Health Management Technology, Healthcare Financial Management, Marketing Health Services, Modern Healthcare, and many more. Some journals have full-text delays.
Ovid Suite of Databases This link opens in a new window
Ovid is a suite of health-related databases which use the same interface. Databases in this suite include: MEDLINE, ERIC, Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA), APA PsycInfo, APA PsycArticles, HealthSTAR, Books@Ovid and Journals@Ovid.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Find full-text journal articles in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
While basic PubMed is free to all Internet users, this link adds blue "Jefferson" buttons to individual citations that connect to Jefferson journal subscriptions and document delivery services for full-text options. PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's own interface for MEDLINE and also includes PREMEDLINE (new citations which don't have their subject headings yet) and OLDMEDLINE (reaching back to the 1950s). Use it to identify journal articles on your biomedical topic.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is Jefferson Libraries’ broadest literature database for nursing, life and health sciences. Scopus searches citations and abstracts of over 44,000 sources across a broad spectrum of sciences, medicine, social sciences and technology, journals, books, conference papers, and world patent literature. Alerts and individual profiles are available. Since 1996, Scopus has indexed the citations and references for each document, making it possible to track citations to individual documents and authors. A suite of article, journal and author metrics are available to analyze research impact.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus covers the international literature of sports medicine, training, physical education, fitness, rehabilitation and therapy. It indexes journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and audiovisual publications. Use the Jefferson buttons on each abstract to access any available Jefferson subscriptions.

How to Request an Article

Can't find the full text of an article you need?

Use our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service to request materials. Before requesting an article, check the Gutman Library search to make sure the library does not own or have electronic access to the journal you need. Simply type in the article or journal title and search!

Athletic Training

Recommended Databases

How to Request an Article

Relevant Journals