Design, Engineering & Commerce Liaison Librarian
Key Database Resources
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
300 collections composed of over 2 million images. These curated images have been rights-cleared for use in education and research — you are free to use them in classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly activities.
- Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window
Berg Fashion Library is now part of Bloomsbury Fashion Central. Bloomsbury Fashion Central provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. It includes the Berg Fashion Library, the Fashion Photography Archive, an extensive E-Book collection, an image bank, extra reference resources and more.
- Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Contents include: Advertising, packaging and product design, Architecture, Crafts, Ceramics, glass and jewelry, Industrial design, Graphic design, Fashion and textiles, Sustainable design, Furniture and interior design, Fiber arts
- Fashion and Race Database This link opens in a new windowProvides tools that expand the narrative of fashion history beyond the Western World. Scholars and industry professionals address fashion now and then to illuminate under-examined peoples and histories.
- Just Style This link opens in a new window
Since March 1999, just-style.com has developed into one of the most respected and fastest growing apparel, footwear and textile trade sites around. The site's unique content is produced and sourced by a network of correspondents and content partnerships, headed up by Leonie Barrie, former Editor of Clothing World magazine. This is a comprehensive source for news and feature articles about the industry. The content is searchable.
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new windowA complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
- Vogue Archive-Research GuideDetailed user guide for Vogue Archive
- WGSN - World's Global Style Network This link opens in a new window
*Note: To download articles while off campus, log in HERE with your personal WGSN account.*
Fashion industry information including news, trend and style information, analysis of industry events, trade show information, catwalk photos from the latest fashion shows in major fashion capitals, city specific fashion information, and technical information on related textiles events. - WWD.com This link opens in a new windowTrade newspaper with international coverage of the fashion, beauty, and retail industries. In addition to providing the full text of each daily issue, this database provides a searchable archive of the full text of all WWD issues back to 1994.
Find Articles, Books, and More
"Everything" Search - the search box on Gutman Library's home page
When you need to research fashion design, an excellent first step is to check our catalog. Searching "Everything" means searching for any source type (articles, books, ebooks, videos, conference proceedings, and more) across many of our 225+ subscription databases at once. You cannot ask our catalog a question, so brainstorm for keywords first, then consider trying a Boolean logic search with AND, OR, or NOT.
| Boolean Operator | Search Example | How does it work? |
| AND | sneakers AND culture |
AND narrows a search by retrieving sources with all your terms Putting terms in quotation marks retrieves sources with those keywords next to each other |
| OR | drawing OR sketchbook | OR broadens a search by finding sources with either term |
| NOT | McQueen NOT Givenchy | NOT narrows a search by excluding sources with an unwanted term |