Databases
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
A collection of 50+ clinical and basic science textbooks, including classics such as Harrison's Principals of Internal Medicine. Tabs across the top provide easy access portals to information on drugs, diagnostic tests, patient handouts, video & audio, guidelines, and quick answers. Also provides information on Self-Assessments, USMLE preparation tips, sample questions, and Diagnosaurus for differential diagnosis.
- CINAHL - Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new windowThe Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers for finding articles, dissertations and more. The database also includes information about consumer health, patient education, and health sciences librarianship. It uses a special controlled vocabulary which overlaps in some areas with PubMed’s Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Complete text for some articles and testing instruments are available online.
- ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new windowClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world. Systematic reviewers search clinical trials registers to identify ongoing or completed clinical trials.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases, including Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, which is commonly referred to as "Trials" or "CENTRAL", Cochrane Systematic Reviews and Protocols, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
- DynaMed This link opens in a new windowDynaMed delivers evidence-based content for practicing clinicians. The multidisciplinary team systematically and objectively surveys emergent scientific literature and clinical practice guidelines. Relevant information is captured, appraised, and synthesized into DynaMed’s clinical content, including recommendations, key takeaways, and synopses.
DynaMed users are encouraged to create individual accounts which allows for a personalized experience, enhanced ability to track content of interest, and the ability to easily claim continuing education credits for use of the product.
Visit the Mobile Apps guide for tips on mobile access.
DynaMed Decisions, a new feature of DynaMed, provides assessment tools and conversational aids to help clinicians have meaningful conversations with patients about care options. DynaMed Decisions can be accessed via separate tab on the DynaMed website. - Google Scholar for Jeffersonians This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar is a growing database of scholarly literature in all fields. It is problematic to search, since Google does not give specifics about dates covered, bibliographic sources, or currency of material. However, it is an easy starting point that may satisfy entry-level search needs. While Google Scholar is free to all users from the Google site, this link passes users through Jefferson's proxy server, so that Google will then display Jefferson links to subscribed full text, where available.
- Lexicomp
Now called UptoDate Lexidrug.
- MEDLINE ALL - Ovid This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE covers the international journal literature of biomedicine. The over 5,000 journals indexed are selected for quality and scope. This database also includes new references not yet added to MEDLINE and PubMed references not in MEDLINE.
- Natural Medicines
Now called NatMed Pro.
- Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new window
The comprehensive psychiatric resource features the DSM-V and DSM Library, American Psychiatric Association (APA) practice guidelines, textbooks, self-assessment tools, clinical & research news, and medication information handouts for patients.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association produces PsycINFO for coverage of the international literature of psychology and related disciplines. PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowWhile basic PubMed is free to all Internet users, this link adds blue "Jefferson" buttons to individual citations that connect to Jefferson journal subscriptions and document delivery services for full-text options. PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's own interface for MEDLINE and also includes PREMEDLINE (new citations which don't have their subject headings yet) and OLDMEDLINE (reaching back to the 1950s). Use it to identify journal articles on your biomedical topic.
Research Resources
- AHRQ: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality( AHRQ) website
- Clinical Practice Guidelines Clinical Practice Guidelines issued by third-party organizations, and not NCCIH
- Cochrane Podcasts Cochrane podcasts deliver the latest Cochrane evidence in an easy to access audio format, allowing you to stay up to date on newly published reviews wherever you are. Each Cochrane podcast offers a short summary of a recent Cochrane review from the authors themselves. They have been recorded in more than 30 languages and are brief, allowing everyone from healthcare professionals to patients and families to hear the latest Cochrane evidence in under five minutes. Browse the podcasts or use the search box to look for something specific. **Cochrane podcasts are also available on Spotify and on Apple Podcasts.**
- InterTASC Information Specialists' Sub-Group Search Filter Resource Use the ISSG Search Filter Resource to retrieve research by study design or focus
- National Institute of Nursing Research National Institute of Nursing Research website
- National League for Nursing Education Research Priorities The National League for Nursing (NLN) Research Priorities in Nursing Education 2020-2023 website
- NIH Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice Training Course NIH: Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice Training Course website
- VA/DoD Clinical Practice Guidelines VA/DoD Clinical Practice Guidelines Website
Evidence Synthesis
Is it a Systematic Review(SR) or a Literature Review?
Sometimes it can be hard to differentiate a systematic review from a literature review. Here are some criteria to better understand the differences:
Evidence Synthesis Table
An evidence synthesis table, also known as a table of evidence or TOE, is a way to appraise the evidence you have chosen critically. Typically, a table of evidence has many columns, each with different criteria to fill for each study you have chosen to represent your research. Here is an example of an Evidence Synthesis table or TOE:
More information and examples about evidence tables in nursing research can be found in these articles:
- Fineout-Overholt, Melnyk, B. M., Stillwell, S. B., & Williamson, K. M. (2010). EVIDENCE-BASED PRACTICE Step by Step: Critical Appraisal of the Evidence: Part I. The American Journal of Nursing, 110(7), 47–52. https://doi.org/10.1097/01.NAJ.0000383935.22721.9c
- Younas, & Ali, P. (2021). Five tips for developing useful literature summary tables for writing review articles. Evidence-Based Nursing, 24(2), 32–34. https://doi.org/10.1136/ebnurs-2021-10341
Systematic Review Guide
- Critical Appraisal & Evidence SynthesisLearn more about critical appraisal and evidence synthesis on our Systematic Review guide.