Librarian
Frequently Used Resources
Frequently Used Resources
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowWhile basic PubMed is free to all Internet users, this link adds blue "Jefferson" buttons to individual citations that connect to Jefferson journal subscriptions and document delivery services for full-text options. PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's own interface for MEDLINE and also includes PREMEDLINE (new citations which don't have their subject headings yet) and OLDMEDLINE (reaching back to the 1950s). Use it to identify journal articles on your biomedical topic.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- ERIC: Education Resources Information Center (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Requires Campus Key. ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
- Occupational Therapy Practice Framework: Domain and Process, 4th Ed.The Occupational Therapy Practice Framework: Domain and Process (OTPF) summarizes the interrelated constructs that describe occupational therapy practice. It is intended for a wide audience of occupational therapy practitioners and students, other health care professionals, educators, researchers, payers, and consumers. This 4th edition (the OTPF–4) continues its predecessors’ mission to provide structure and guidance for practitioners to achieve the distinct value of occupational therapy in the clinic and other settings.
- ProQuest Research Companion This link opens in a new window Short videos are organized into ten Learning Modules that answer questions like "How do I choose a topic?" "Where do I find information?" and "How do I evaluate sources?"
Where to Start
Starting Your Research
To begin your research, use the following resources to obtain background information on your topic:
- AccessMedicineProvides full-text access to more than 100 medical and basic science titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device.
- Credo ReferenceReference sources (dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc.) covering wide range of subjects
- Harrison's Principles of Internal MedicineLeading medical textbook online
To locate specific article references, try the following:
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowThis database is part of the EBSCO system, and like ProQuest's Research Library database and its associated modules, Academic Search Premier is multi-disciplinary, and therefore a good place to get started with your research. There are links to the full text of many of the articles indexed.
- CIRRIEDatabase of International Rehabilitation Research -
- CINAHL - Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new windowThe Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers for finding articles, dissertations and more. The database also includes information about consumer health, patient education, and health sciences librarianship. It uses a special controlled vocabulary which overlaps in some areas with PubMed’s Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Complete text for some articles and testing instruments are available online.
- Google ScholarRemote users: Use any Google Scholar link from a library page.. Once you log in and search, you see Full-Text@Gutman Library links to full-text content. No set-up required!
- Ovid Suite of Databases This link opens in a new windowOvid is a suite of health-related databases which use the same interface. Databases in this suite include: MEDLINE, ERIC, Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA), APA PsycInfo, APA PsycArticles, HealthSTAR, Books@Ovid and Journals@Ovid.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is Jefferson Libraries’ broadest literature database for nursing, life and health sciences. Scopus searches citations and abstracts of over 44,000 sources across a broad spectrum of sciences, medicine, social sciences and technology, journals, books, conference papers, and world patent literature. Alerts and individual profiles are available. Since 1996, Scopus has indexed the citations and references for each document, making it possible to track citations to individual documents and authors. A suite of article, journal and author metrics are available to analyze research impact.
- Trip (free version) This link opens in a new windowTrip is a clinical search engine that classifies results by evidence type: systematic reviews, guidelines, controlled trials, patient education, etc. SML does not subscribe to the Pro version. Select "Try out the new site!" link at the top of the page which is currently in Beta.
Additional Online Resources
- ERIC: Education Resources Information Center (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowRequires Campus Key. ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
- ERIC: Education Resources Information Center (.gov) This link opens in a new windowAlso available via Ovid
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni replaced LexisNexis Academic. It features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
- REHABDATAProduced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation.
- Draw it to Know it (ditki): Medical & Biological Sciences This link opens in a new window
DITKI offers biology, science for undergraduate and graduate/medical disciplines, integrated systems (e.g., neurological, respiratory) via a series of online, interactive illustrated and narrated tutorials. Exams for self-testing are included.
Concise overview for students and faculty accompanied by registration instructions. - SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowThis collection of over 550 journal titles in full text includes the following collections: Communication & Media Studies Collection, Criminology Collection, Politics & International Relations Collection, Sociology Collection, Education Collection, Psychology Collection, Nursing & Public Health Collection, Management & Organization Studies Collection, Materials Science & Engineering Collection, Urban Studies & Planning Collection.
- SocINDEX with Full Text: This link opens in a new windowTopics include: gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
- Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Springer Nature Link offers over 1,200 journals in full text. In addition to biomedical journals, subjects include mathematics, linguistics, material sciences, computer science, law and many other fields.
Am J Occupational Therapy Table of Contents
AJOT is a publication of the American Occupational Therapy AssociationLoading ...
Evaluating Web Resources
- Evaluating Web Sources: Applying the CRAAP TestFrom Calif. State U. - Chico
