LibGuides: Marketing: Advertising, Brands, Branding

Key Advertising Journals (Online)

Adweek
more...less...
Adweek is the home for creative thought leaders and top agency influencers looking for the latest strategies, innovations and ideas. Online and print coverage extends beyond traditional advertising focus to topics ranging from new media to pop culture to design.
Advertising Age
more...less...
Articles on national and international marketing, news about individuals in advertising, statistics on advertising, and special reports on the buying habits of Americans and other consumer-related marketing issues.
Brandweek (New York, N.Y.)
more...less...
Brandweek is the leading source of branding news and examines industry trends with a discerning eye. Marketing executives rely on Brandweek's digital and print products for timely and insightful information about all levels of the brand activation process.
Advertising and Society Quarterly
more...less...
Advertising & Society Quarterly is the first scholarly journal devoted entirely to advertising and its relationship to society, culture, history, and the economy.

Visual Merchandising & Store Design

Available from 1998 to present in Gutman Library print holdings.

Image rich publication of branding and visual media for retail stores. The publication Web site features design galleries and news.

Adweek

Available in Gutman Library print holdings and online.

American advertising trade magazine

Images from Ad Access, The John W. Harlman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History, Duke University Library

Web resources with images of print advertisements, ad slogans, and information on the history of advertising.

Ad Access Project (Image of Print Advertisements) (Duke University Digital Collections)
more...less...
Database of over 7,000 ads published between 1911 and 1955
Emergence of Advertising in America (Images) (Duke University Digital Collections)
more...less...
Contains over 9,000 images
AdViews (Television Advertisements) (Duke University Digital Collections)
more...less...
is collection at Duke University Library provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s. All of the commercials held in the DMB&B Archives will be digitized,Th allowing students and researchers access to a wide range of vintage brand advertising from the first four decades of mainstream commercial television.