Research Guides: Marketing: Find Sources: Industry and Consumer Research

Market Share

Gale Business: Insights Explore over 420,000 company profiles with expert analysis such as SWOT reports, financial statements, Refinitiv statistical data, market share, business rankings, case studies, company histories, and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets and more. Also includes insight into major markets with profiles of the world's countries and territories, and analysis of over 1,000 industries with MarketLine and Plunkett reports, competitive landscapes, and articles.

Market Share Reports show company rankings within their industry and their market share. Find these reports under the top menu "Industries" drop-down.

IBISWorld Provides industry insights & analyses, risk assessments, industry intelligence, market research. Topics include: business, economics, engineering, entrepreneurship, management, tourism, supply chain, marketing, trade

Click the top menu "Industry Research: U.S. Business Environment Profiles" for consumer behavior and demographics reports.

Industry reports include market share information in sections on "Competitive Landscape" and "Major Companies."

Statista Statista.com is a statistics portal with data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on a wide variety of industries including media, business, finance, politics, health and pharmaceuticals.

Includes Media & Advertising Statistics, Consumer & Brand Reports, Consumer Market Outlook, Advertising & Media Outlook, and more

Market Share Reporter (ebook)
"Covers 50 key industries (and the companies and products therein) throughout the world (including but not limited to the US, Canada, Mexico, Europe and Asia)." Most recent edition: 2012

Consumer Research

Mergent Intellect
Company, executive, financial, and industry information, with access to private, public U.S, and international data. Includes Key Business Ratios, and demographics and consumer data for marketing.
PolicyMap
PolicyMap is an online data and Geographic Information System (GIS) mapping tool used to access data about communities and markets across the US. Use it for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis. Once you're logged in, you can create a personal account to save work privately or share with other Jefferson PolicyMap account holders.
Video introduction
Guides and tutorials
Weekly trainings
SocINDEX with Full Text:
Topics include: gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
Statista
Statista.com is a statistics portal with data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on a wide variety of industries including media, business, finance, politics, health and pharmaceuticals.

American Customer Satisfaction Index
from the University of Michigan's Ross School of Business
Pew Research Center
Non-partisan think tank that researches and polls the American public on their beliefs about politics & policy, religion, science, technology, family & relationships, news habits & media, and more. (free on the web)
Reference Solutions (formerly RefUSA)
Anyone who lives, works, or studies in Philadelphia can register with the Free Library of Philadelphia to access this free database with in-depth information on businesses, consumers, and residents. Locate businesses, conduct market research, and more.

U.S. Government national surveys of households

These surveys provide demographic characteristics like age, ethnicity, gender, occupation, and income, and can be used to determine appropriate business-to-consumer target populations:

The Census
"Measuring America's people, places, and economy."
The Consumer Expenditure Survey
"The Consumer Expenditure Surveys (CE) program provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States."
The American Time Use Survey
"The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing."
The American Housing Survey
"The AHS is sponsored by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau. The survey is the most comprehensive national housing survey in the United States."
The American Community Survey
"The American Community Survey (ACS) helps local officials, community leaders, and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed population and housing information about our nation."
State & County Quick Facts
"Statistics for all stands and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more." From the U.S. Census Bureau.

Advertising Industry

Advertising industry profiles and forecasts prepared by MarketLine (previously DataMonitor) are in the database Business Source Premier. Include the name of the country or region with "advertising industry profile" or with "digital advertising industry profile" in your keyword search.