Information Services Librarian
Jess Saunders
she/her
Contact:
Scott Memorial Library, Suite 201
1020 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
1020 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
215-503-7916
Research within the Discipline: Find Medical Journal Articles, Books, and More
These databases and clinical decision support tools are excellent for finding articles and background information with a medical / health sciences focus:
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
A collection of 50+ clinical and basic science textbooks, including classics such as Harrison's Principals of Internal Medicine. Tabs across the top provide easy access portals to information on drugs, diagnostic tests, patient handouts, video & audio, guidelines, and quick answers. Also provides information on Self-Assessments, USMLE preparation tips, sample questions, and Diagnosaurus for differential diagnosis.
- CINAHL - Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new windowThe Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers for finding articles, dissertations and more. The database also includes information about consumer health, patient education, and health sciences librarianship. It uses a special controlled vocabulary which overlaps in some areas with PubMed’s Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Complete text for some articles and testing instruments are available online.
- ProQuest Research Library: Health & Medicine This link opens in a new windowTopics include: Medical Science, Nursing, Allied Health, Public Health, Pharmacology
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association produces PsycINFO for coverage of the international literature of psychology and related disciplines. PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowWhile basic PubMed is free to all Internet users, this link adds blue "Jefferson" buttons to individual citations that connect to Jefferson journal subscriptions and document delivery services for full-text options. PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's own interface for MEDLINE and also includes PREMEDLINE (new citations which don't have their subject headings yet) and OLDMEDLINE (reaching back to the 1950s). Use it to identify journal articles on your biomedical topic.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is Jefferson Libraries’ broadest literature database for nursing, life and health sciences. Scopus searches citations and abstracts of over 44,000 sources across a broad spectrum of sciences, medicine, social sciences and technology, journals, books, conference papers, and world patent literature. Alerts and individual profiles are available. Since 1996, Scopus has indexed the citations and references for each document, making it possible to track citations to individual documents and authors. A suite of article, journal and author metrics are available to analyze research impact.
These journals have a cannabis specific focus:
- American Journal of Endocannabinoid MedicineAJEM, the first and only American medical authority committed to scientific study of the ECS, and to the evidence-based practice of Endocannabinoid Medicine. AJEM aims to present/ interpret the currently available authoritative research, while stimulating questions regarding the role of medical cannabis in all forms, as a growing methodology in the field of treatment and patient care. The intent of AJEM is to be utilized as a clinical resource and contribute to the examination and overall scientific discussion of the endocannabinoid system.
- CannabisCannabis is an open access peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the scientific study of marijuana/cannabis from a multidisciplinary perspective. Consistent with the mission of the Research Society on Marijuana (RSMj), the journal publishes empirical research of the determinants, correlates, consequences, contexts, and assessment of marijuana use as well as the treatment of problematic marijuana use, including cannabis use disorder.
- Cannabis and Cannabinoid ResearchCannabis and Cannabinoid Research, the premier peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the scientific, medical, and psychosocial exploration of clinical cannabis, cannabinoids, and the endocannabinoid system. The Journal publishes a broad range of human and animal studies including basic and translational research; clinical studies; behavioral, social, and epidemiological issues; and ethical, legal, and regulatory controversies. Cannabis and Cannabinoid Research is the leading source for authoritative cannabis and cannabinoid research, discussion, and debate.
- Journal of Cannabis ResearchJournal of Cannabis Research is an open access, peer-reviewed, international journal which welcomes submissions covering all topics pertaining to cannabis.
- Medical Cannabis and CannabinoidsMedical Cannabis and Cannabinoids is a peer-reviewed journal offering an international forum to present and discuss recent advances in the rapidly developing and challenging field of the medical use of cannabis and cannabinoids. It seeks to bridge the gap between empirical and evidence-based clinical medicine by covering current basic and applied as well as translational research topics.