LibGuides: Cannabis: Science of Cannabis

Research within the Discipline: Find Scientific Journal Articles, Books, and More

These databases are excellent for finding articles or background information on physical and biological scientific topics:

AccessScience
Provides reference material covering all major scientific disciplines with links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers.
American Chemical Society
This site provides full-text access to 50+ titles from the American Chemical Society (ACS).
ProQuest Research Library: Science & Technology
Topics include: Agriculture, Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Materials Science, Computing, Engineering
ScienceDirect
A full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters. Jefferson subscribes to some, but not all content.
Scopus
Scopus is Jefferson Libraries’ broadest literature database for nursing, life and health sciences. Scopus searches citations and abstracts of over 44,000 sources across a broad spectrum of sciences, medicine, social sciences and technology, journals, books, conference papers, and world patent literature. Alerts and individual profiles are available. Since 1996, Scopus has indexed the citations and references for each document, making it possible to track citations to individual documents and authors. A suite of article, journal and author metrics are available to analyze research impact.

These journals have a cannabis specific focus:

Analytical Cannabis Journal
Analytical Cannabis Journal covers latest on extraction, science and testing.
Cannabis
Cannabis is an open access peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the scientific study of marijuana/cannabis from a multidisciplinary perspective. Consistent with the mission of the Research Society on Marijuana (RSMj), the journal publishes empirical research of the determinants, correlates, consequences, contexts, and assessment of marijuana use as well as the treatment of problematic marijuana use, including cannabis use disorder.
Cannabis and Cannabinoid Research
Cannabis and Cannabinoid Research, the premier peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the scientific, medical, and psychosocial exploration of clinical cannabis, cannabinoids, and the endocannabinoid system. The Journal publishes a broad range of human and animal studies including basic and translational research; clinical studies; behavioral, social, and epidemiological issues; and ethical, legal, and regulatory controversies. Cannabis and Cannabinoid Research is the leading source for authoritative cannabis and cannabinoid research, discussion, and debate.
Journal of Cannabis Research
Journal of Cannabis Research is an open access, peer-reviewed, international journal which welcomes submissions covering all topics pertaining to cannabis.

Finding Full Text
by Abby Adamczyk Last Updated Feb 11, 2025 560 views this year

Science and Health Library Guide
by Lauren Earl Last Updated Feb 6, 2025 7 views this year

Citation Management Tools
by Gary Kaplan Last Updated May 8, 2025 2912 views this year