Design, Engineering & Commerce Liaison Librarian
Getting Started: Find Journal Articles, Books, & More
"Everything" Search - the search box on Gutman Library's home page
When you need to research the business of cannabis, an excellent first step is to check our catalog. Searching "Everything" means searching for any source type (articles, books, ebooks, videos, conference proceedings, and more) across many of our 225+ subscription databases at once. You cannot ask our catalog a question, so brainstorm for keywords first and consider trying a Boolean logic search with AND, OR, or NOT.
Keywords to try: cannabis, marijuana, cannabis business, marijuana industry, cannabis industry, market analysis, forecasts and trends, commerce, industry, competition, startups, funding, entrepreneur
| Boolean Operator | Search Example | How does it work? |
|---|---|---|
| AND | cannabis AND "market analysis" |
AND narrows a search by retrieving sources with all your terms Putting terms in quotation marks retrieves sources with those keywords next to each other |
| OR | entrepreneur OR startup | OR broadens a search by finding sources with either term |
| NOT | marketing NOT print | NOT narrows a search by excluding sources with an unwanted term |
Research within the Discipline: Find Business Journal Articles, Books, and More
Some business databases are excellent for finding articles published in trade journals, magazines, and scholarly sources. These include:
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprised of three databases: ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Topics include business and financial information, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competition environment.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, some dating back to 1922. Also includes company and industry reports.
- Health Business Elite This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. Topics covered include hospital management, hospital administration, marketing, human resources, computer technology, facilities management and insurance. Health Business Elite contains full-text content for nearly 600 journals such as H&HN: Hospitals & Health Networks, Harvard Business Review (available back to 1922), Health Facilities Management, Health Management Technology, Healthcare Financial Management, Marketing Health Services, Modern Healthcare, and many more. Some journals have full-text delays.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni replaced LexisNexis Academic. It features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
- ProQuest Research Library: Business This link opens in a new window
Topics include: Business, Economic conditions, Corporate strategies, Management theory, Management techniques, Business trends, Competitive landscape and product information, Accounting, and Finance
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full-text of newspaper articles (no numeric data or tables) from WSJ back to 2010.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream provides online access to the most respected national and regional newspapers from across the U.S. These titles offer researchers thorough coverage of local, national, and international events with journalistic balance and perspective.
Find Reports & Data
Some databases are best for locating business intelligence in the form of proprietary reports and data. These include:
- Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Explore over 420,000 company profiles with expert analysis such as SWOT reports, financial statements, Refinitiv statistical data, market share, business rankings, case studies, company histories, and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets and more. Also includes insight into major markets with profiles of the world's countries and territories, and analysis of over 1,000 industries with MarketLine and Plunkett reports, competitive landscapes, and articles.
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Company, executive, financial, and industry information, with access to private, public U.S, and international data. Includes Key Business Ratios, and demographics and consumer data for marketing.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com is a statistics portal with data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on a wide variety of industries including media, business, finance, politics, health and pharmaceuticals.
Key Databases for Industry Information
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides industry insights & analyses, risk assessments, industry intelligence, market research. Topics include: business, economics, engineering, entrepreneurship, management, tourism, supply chain, marketing, trade
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage is a comprehensive, professional source of proprietary analysis on industry trends, corporate activities, and investments. Includes S&P Industry Surveys, Stock Reports (S&P Equity Research), and now with Markets tab for drill downs to key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, etc. by sub-industry. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private and public companies.
Organizations and Other Websites
- HeadsetFrom the website: "Headset is a data-driven tech company that provides a business intelligence platform for the cannabis industry. Their services cover an array of specialized needs that businesses in the industry have, be they growers, extractors, processors, or retailers. The company's mission is to help operators make more informed business decisions through data. It aggregates multiple reporting sources to help analysts, producers, and retailers see opportunities and stay ahead of product trends." Headset requires sign-up for free webinars, reports, data, and trends information.
- New Frontier Data"The authority in cannabis business intelligence." Sign up for free access.
- Tax Policy CenterIt includes a wealth of information on features of the current tax system and possible future directions. It also explains many of the concepts used in tax, budget, and economic policy. Written for a general audience, it is intended to help the public, the press, students and staffers—anyone who wants to be well informed about current tax and budget matters.
- Investopedia: CannabisPersonal finance and cannabis industry information for investors