Intro to Library Services for East Falls Students

Circulation Desk

The Circulation Desk is located on the Main Floor of the library to the left of the entrance. At the Circulation Desk, you can check out items from our physical collections using your Student ID. Library staff is here to help locate books, call numbers, or anything else you need. To learn more about borrowing materials, loan periods, and renewals, visit our Borrowing Materials page.

Physical Collections

The library holds physical collections including books, periodicals, reference materials, media, and more. To access our physical collections, first search for items in our Library Catalog (the big blue search bar in the center of the page). After you locate the item you want, look for the call number and search for the item in the stacks (book shelves). Look for the flags at the end of each stack that indicate the range of call numbers located in it. You can check out print books using your Student ID. 

Electronic Collections

The library holds extensive electronic collections, including databases, ebooks, journals, newspapers, magazines, research studies, reference items, streaming videos, media, and more. There are a variety of ways to access electronic collections on the library website, including the Library Catalog, Databases, Journals, and Research Guides. 

Course Reserves

Textbooks are expensive! The good news is that the library holds some textbooks and course materials in Course Reserves, behind the main Circulation Desk at the library. You can check out Course Reserves materials for 4 hours at a time and use them within the library building. Communicate with your course instructor to see if they have put your course’s materials on reserve. For more information on Course Reserves, visit our Course Reserves page.

Special Collections

The Thomas Jefferson University - East Falls Archives & Special Collections provides a wealth of creative inspiration and educational opportunities for students, scholars, and professionals through its collection of costumes and textiles, manuscripts, personal papers, memorabilia, and other materials of historical value that document the development of the textile industry and the history of Jefferson- East Falls. To learn more about Special Collections, visit our Special Collections page.

Interlibrary Loan

Do you need an article or book that isn't a part of our collections? If it is available at another institution, we can order it, free of cost to you, using our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service. To place an ILL request and learn more about ILL, visit our Interlibrary Loan at Gutman Library Guide.