LibGuides: Graduate Medical Education: Reading & Writing

eBooks

We have ebook collections through various publishers. These are the largest collections. To see all our ebooks, search the library catalog, then refine your results using Resource Type > Books, and Availability > Full Text Online.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
A collection of 50+ clinical and basic science textbooks, including classics such as Harrison's Principals of Internal Medicine. Tabs across the top provide easy access portals to information on drugs, diagnostic tests, patient handouts, video & audio, guidelines, and quick answers. Also provides information on Self-Assessments, USMLE preparation tips, sample questions, and Diagnosaurus for differential diagnosis.
LWW Health Library – Medical Education This link opens in a new window
A collection of trusted Lippincott content including key textbooks, atlases, videos and self-assessments.
R2 Library This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of textbooks in medicine, nursing and allied health disciplines.

Journals

BrowZine This link opens in a new window
BrowZine is a browsable newsstand of Thomas Jefferson University's top journals. Visit the Mobile Apps guide to learn more and download the app for use on your mobile device.

Journal Search
Search the Scott Library catalog by journal title.
Guide to Finding Full Text
Having trouble accessing the full text of journal articles online? Try the troubleshooting steps on our guide to finding full text.

Citation Management

The Jefferson community has access to three different citation management tools: Sciwheel, RefWorks, and EndNote. To get started using a citation manager for personal reading, try Sciwheel. For large projects like systematic reviews, try the legacy version of RefWorks, or install EndNote on your computer. Find links to all three on our guide:

Citation Management Guide

Writing & Publishing Support

Office for Professional Writing, Publishing & Communication
OPWPC provides support to those who are writing for publication or developing conference presentations. Schedule a consultation for free assistance at any stage of the writing, publishing, or presentation development process.
Grammarly

Style Manuals

American Medical Association (AMA Manual of Style)
Provides writing style and grammar guidelines, recommendations for visual presentation of data, and requirements for formatting bibliographies in AMA style.
Style Manuals
For information about other styles and for more help, see our Style Manuals page.

Where to Publish

BMJ Case Reports
Jefferson has an institutional membership to BMJ Case Reports. Students, faculty and staff may submit as many case reports as they like to this journal for free. E-mail AskALibrarian@jefferson.edu for information.
Cooper Rowan Medical Journal
CRMJ publishes research by current medical students, allied healthcare students, and residents/fellows (all years) in training. CRMJ prioritizes publishing research that addresses conditions frequently impacting medically under-served patients and focuses on understanding the comprehensive health care systems for unde-served populations.
Transformative Medicine (T-Med)
Transformative Medicine is a quarterly, open access journal that publishes original research, reviews, quality improvement, commentaries and case reports covering most aspects of medicine and biomedical research. The journal welcomes participation from physicians of all experience levels and encourages the submissions of residents, fellows and medical students. The journal does not charge submission, publication or processing fees to authors of submitted or accepted manuscripts.

Publishing Art and Literary Works

Evanescent
"Evanescent is a literary journal published by the Jefferson Center for Injury Research and Prevention and dedicated to stories of injury and all its victims.
We seek submissions of high-quality writing on themes related to injury, including short nonfiction, fiction, and poetry."