Graduate Medical Education Librarian
1020 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Scholarly Literature
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowWhile basic PubMed is free to all Internet users, this link adds blue "Jefferson" buttons to individual citations that connect to Jefferson journal subscriptions and document delivery services for full-text options. PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's own interface for MEDLINE and also includes PREMEDLINE (new citations which don't have their subject headings yet) and OLDMEDLINE (reaching back to the 1950s). Use it to identify journal articles on your biomedical topic.
- Ovid MEDLINE ALL This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE covers the international journal literature of biomedicine. The over 5,000 journals indexed are selected for quality and scope. This database also includes new references not yet added to MEDLINE and PubMed references not in MEDLINE.
NOTE: The word 'MEDLINE' is frequently (but erroneously) used to describe the Ovid suite of health-related databases. Ovid uses a single interface to access many different databases, including MEDLINE, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, and more. While the main thrust of MEDLINE is clinical information, some administrative and sociological literature is included.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is Jefferson Libraries’ broadest literature database for nursing, life and health sciences. Scopus searches citations and abstracts of over 44,000 sources across a broad spectrum of sciences, medicine, social sciences and technology, journals, books, conference papers, and world patent literature. Alerts and individual profiles are available. Since 1996, Scopus has indexed the citations and references for each document, making it possible to track citations to individual documents and authors. A suite of article, journal and author metrics are available to analyze research impact.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association produces PsycINFO for coverage of the international literature of psychology and related disciplines. PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases, including Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, which is commonly referred to as "Trials" or "CENTRAL", Cochrane Systematic Reviews and Protocols, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
Need a refresher on searching PubMed or Scopus? Sign up for the Library Research for Residents and Fellows Canvas course, created by our GME Librarian. The course includes modules on EBM information resources, developing good search strategies in PubMed, and searching Scopus.
Library Services & Research Support
- Systematic Reviews SupportNeed help with a systematic review? Check out our guide or schedule a consultation with a librarian.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Did you find a book or article we don't have access to in our collection? Request it for free from our ILL service!
- Research Support NewsletterSpring 2025 edition. Check the JDC for other issues of the newsletter.
- Jefferson Funding Support for Open Access PublishingJefferson has a variety of funding support options for publishing open access articles.
TJU Research Support
- LabArchivesAn electronic research notebook that you can use to organize, document, store, protect, share, and collaborate, your research and data. (Do not use for PHI data)
- Statistics SoftwareGet NVIVO and SPSS through Jefferson.