Estimated Timeline
Listed below is an estimated timeline, and if you've ever completed a construction project, then you know that all dates are subject to change! We'll update this timeline with more information as construction gets underway.
| When | What | Who is Impacted |
| Early July 2023 | Renovation of the 4th floor begins. The 4th floor is closed to all library patrons and staff. |
Scott Library Patrons |
| Early July - August 2023 | Demolition phase: We expect this to be the most disruptive and loudest phase. | Scott Library Patrons - during this phase, the renovation may impact noise on the 2nd and 3rd floors |
| July 2023 - February 2024 | Renovation continues: The 4th floor is completely closed to all library patrons and staff at this time. | Scott Library Patrons & Staff |
| April 2024 | Renovation concludes. |
Scott Library Patrons - 4th floor quiet study space reopens Siegman Archives - researchers and visitors can explore the Archives and programming begins |
| April 9, 2024 | A Siegman Archives ribbon cutting and tour of the space, event hosted by Office of Institutional Advancement. | Office of Institutional Advancement: Board of Trustees, Alumni, Donors. |
| May 15, 2024 | Siegman Archives Open House | All Jefferson Community Members |
| Spring/Summer 2024 | Siegman Archives & 4th floor of Scott Library reopen | All Jefferson Community Members |
Progress Report
Check out videos and photos of the renovation progress!
July 2023
The Scott Library team is preparing for the demolition to begin. All archival and special collections materials are carefully placed in boxes and moved to off-site storage. As of July 12, we've moved 700 boxes!
Videos - July 2023
August 2023
September 2023
. 
Videos - September 2023
October 2023
As construction continues, the library team makes fun decisions about carpet styles and interior finishings!
December 2023
The latest updates include carving out devoted space to showcase exhibit materials and setting up tracks for the shelving units!
Video - December 2023
January 2024
New year, new ceilings and exit signs!
February 2024
The shelving units are going in! This new high-density storage system will allow for better organization and temperature-safe storage of the archival materials.
March 2024
As we near the finish line of the Siegman Archives renovation, you can start to really see the space coming to life! Scott Library staff are stocking the The Vault shelves with materials, wood ceilings and nooks for collection items in The Chamber are finalized, and wires and tech for The Forum, are being installed.
. 
April 2024
Finishing touches are being made on the Siegman Archives space. The AV team is finalizing projection, sound, etc. in The Forum. Glass doors/walls are installed in offices, and archival materials are added to the Vault and Chamber space.
