Why is the Center City Archives & Special Collections Being Renovated?
The Center City Archives & Special Collections, housed on the 4th floor of Scott Library, has needed a little TLC for some time. The Archives has outgrown its small space – needing more (and climate-safe) storage to house the Collection’s materials securely. The closed-off location of the Archives limits its visibility and restricts opportunities for programming to the Jefferson community and external organizations and researchers.
After years of discussion regarding the space and desired improvements, Dr. Marion Siegman, a long-time champion of the Archives, contributed a generous donation to renovate and expand the space. You can learn more about Dr. Siegman’s gift in this article, featured in The Bulletin (Jefferson’s alumni magazine). In the photo to the right, Dr. Siegman visits Scott Library's 4th floor where the renovation is underway!
The newly renovated Archives, the Siegman Archives, will allow us to showcase the Collection’s artifacts more engagingly to the Jefferson community. Open exhibit space and shelves will highlight materials for students. Designated areas for programming and lectures will allow us to host events, and newly constructed rooms for individual or group research will encourage scholars to interact with the Collection in new ways. The renovation will also allow for better storage and organization of the materials.
All library services, including study rooms, librarian consultations, and resource access, will remain unaffected during the project.