Citation Management with EndNote 20
EndNote 20 features include the ability to:
- Insert in-text citations and create bibliographies with Cite While You Write (CWYW).
- Rapidly import database files.
- Sync to EndNote Online (note: EndNote 21 syncs to a separate online tool, located at web.endnote.com).
- Share libraries.
- Customize citation styles.
EndNote is available to Thomas Jefferson University faculty, students and staff; Jefferson Hospitals: TJUH, JHN and Methodist clinicians and staff; and Jefferson residents, postdocs and fellows.
- EndNote: Do's and Don'tsTips include: backup, syncing, sharing libraries, automatic formatting of large documents, author input, Google Doc incompatibility, editing citations, concurrent viewing in read-only mode, and more.
Installation
- EndNote 20 Installer, License Key and InstructionsThis desktop tool may be downloaded for use by Jefferson students, faculty, and staff for use on their own computers. Contact Jefferson IS&T (215-955-7975) for help installing on Jefferson computers. Contact askalibrarian@jefferson.edu for additional assistance.
- Save a Compressed Library: EndNote.enlx backup before updating from a previous EndNote version.
- EndNote: How to UninstallNote: uninstalling an older version before installing EndNote 20 is not required. Both X9 and EndNote 20 may be installed on the same computer, but once EndNote 20 is the default application it is recommended that X9 be uninstalled.
Compatibility
- Compatibility with Windows 11: EndNote 20Tested with EndNote 20; no major compatibility issues were found.
- Apple M1/M2/M3 Chip CompatibilityThe EndNote 21 & 20.1.0 update provides compatibility with Apple Silicon-based macOS. Please update to EndNote 20.1.0 EndNote 20: Updates
Workaround provided for error messages. - macOS CatalinaEndNote 20 is compatible.
- macOS Big SurCompatible with EndNote 20.1.0
- macOS MontereyTested with EndNote 20; no major compatibility issues were found.
- macOS VenturaTested with EndNot 20; no major compatibility issues were found.
- macOS SonomaEndNote 20 and earlier were not designed for Sonoma. We suggest upgrading to EndNote 21.
Getting Started
- EndNote 20 User Help Guide (Windows)Comprehensive 586 page manual.
- EndNote 20 User Help Guide (macOS)Comprehensive 553 page manual.
- User Resources: EndNote 20Quick Reference Guides for both Mac and Windows: adding a new reference, edit and manage citations, insert citation, library overview, library sharing, library syncing.
- Featured and Trending ArticlesInstall additional output styles, compatibility with Dropbox and other cloud services.
- Generate Full or Abbreviated Journal NamesEndNote provides a number of Terms Lists to make sure that the journal names in your bibliography are either the full name or abbreviation as your style requires.
- Retraction Alerts in EndNote 20Receive instantaneous retraction alerts for journal articles identified by Retraction Watch (retractiondatabase.org) in EndNote 20.2 and higher.
Configuring EndNote Preferences and Downloading PDFs
Jefferson Libraries has transitioned from EZproxy to OpenAthens authentication for access to journal articles. EndNote Desktop is not supported by OpenAthens and only the OpenURL Path may be added via Preferences (Authenticate with: URL: input field is now left empty).
To attach a PDF to a citation manager (during or after the import process), you’ll need to configure the citation manager tool with the library’s OpenURL (https://jefferson.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01TJU_INST/01TJU_INST:01TJU?):
- Open EndNote
- On the Edit menu (EndNote 20 on Mac), select Preferences
- Select Find Full Text
- Paste the OpenURL (above) into the box labeled OpenURL Path
- Select Apply and then OK to save changes
Please note: without the Authenticate with: URL: EndNote's Find Full Text is not totally functional at this time (we hope for an eventual fix) as it is only relying upon the OpenURL to import PDFs.
EndNote Click is an alternative option for capturing full text (PDFs must have embedded digital object identifiers to be successfully imported).
- EndNote 20 (Windows): Importing PDF FilesmacOS: selecting Import opens a window displaying the Options button on the lower left for PDF File or Folder.
- EndNote 20 (Windows) PDF Auto Import foldermacOS: Preferences is located via the EndNote 20 menu, compared to the Windows Edit menu. Otherwise, the process is the same.
- EndNote: Optimizing Find Full Text resultsIncludes discussion of OpenURL linking to PDFs at 3m:40s.
Finders
- Connection FinderConnection files contain all the information necessary for EndNote to search and import references from an online database. Use the Connection Finder to search for a specific Information Provider.
- Filter FinderUse import filters to transfer information previously downloaded from an online database. Search for filters to locate a specific Information Provider.
- Style FinderSearch for a style name and/or citation style and/or publisher.
Library Sharing
- Library Sharing and EditingEndNote 20.2 will allow you to share with up to 400 other colleagues.
EndNote 20.1 will allow you to share with up to 200 other colleagues.
- Expert Features in EndNote 20 (macOS)Includes library syncing, sharing, customizing reference formatting and more.
Due to conflicts with citation IDs, it is recommended that one author be responsible for writing (inserting in-text citations and creating bibliographies) the manuscript.
Backup & Library Safety
- Backing Up the EndNote Library: Create An .enlx FileRefer to the sections for Compress Library for EndNote X and later users: "You can save your complete library (the filename.enl file as well as its associated .Data folder and all of its contents) to a single compressed filename.enlx file in order to easily back up your library or send a copy to a colleague. Later, you can easily restore (unzip) the compressed library with EndNote." Includes video: In action: EndNote 20 Compress Library.
- Library SafetyDropbox is a cloud based file sharing service. Our database products (EndNote™, Reference Manager and ProCite) were not designed for compatibility with this service or other cloud storage. While you can use the service to keep a backup copy or share a compressed copy of your database file(s), we do not recommend opening and/or using the database from that location. If you have your database files saved to Dropbox or any cloud storage, we recommend you copy the files to another location on your computer or remote drive before you open them.