LibGuides: Citation Management Tools: EndNote X9

Citation Management with EndNote X9

EndNote X9 features include the ability to:

Insert in-text citations and create bibliographies with Cite While You Write (CWYW).
Rapidly import database files.
Sync to EndNote Online.
Share libraries.
Customize citation styles.

EndNote is available to Thomas Jefferson University faculty, students and staff; Jefferson Hospitals: TJUH, JHN and Methodist clinicians and staff; and Jefferson residents, postdocs and fellows.

EndNote: Do's and Don'ts
Tips include: backup, syncing, sharing libraries, automatic formatting of large documents, author input, Google Doc incompatibility, editing citations, concurrent viewing in read-only mode, and more.

Installation

EndNote X9 Installer, License Key and Instructions
EndNote: Updates for X9
Save a Compressed Library: EndNote
.enlx backup before updating from a previous EndNote version.
Download EndNote Mobile Application on iPhone and iPad
EndNote: Generate Full or Abbreviated Journal Names
Working with EndNote Terms Lists

Compatibility

Windows and Mac Compatibility for X9 and Prior EndNote and Word Processor Versions
macOS Catalina Compatibility
macOS Big Sur Compatibility
EndNote X9 was not designed for macOS Big Sur. We suggest upgrading to EndNote 20 (and beyond).
macOS Ventura Compatibility
EndNote X9 was not designed for macOS Ventura. We suggest upgrading to EndNote 20.
macOS Sonoma
EndNote 20 and earlier were not designed for Sonoma. We suggest upgrading to EndNote 21.
32-bit App Compatibility with macOS High Sierra 10.13.4 and Later
Starting with macOS Catalina, 32-bit apps are no longer compatible with macOS.

Getting Started

Configuring EndNote Preferences and Downloading PDFs

Jefferson Libraries has transitioned from EZproxy to OpenAthens authentication for access to journal articles. EndNote Desktop is not supported by OpenAthens and only the OpenURL Path may be added via Preferences (Authenticate with: URL: input field is now left empty).

To attach a PDF to a citation manager (during or after the import process), you’ll need to configure the citation manager tool with the library’s OpenURL (https://jefferson.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01TJU_INST/01TJU_INST:01TJU?):

Open EndNote
On the Edit menu (EndNote on Mac), select Preferences
Select Find Full Text
Paste the OpenURL (above) into the box labeled OpenURL Path
Select Apply and then OK to save changes

Please note: without the Authenticate with: URL: EndNote's Find Full Text is not totally functional at this time (we hope for an eventual fix) as it is only relying upon the OpenURL to import PDFs.

Alternative options (PDFs must have embedded digital object identifiers to be successfully imported):

EndNote X9: Importing PDFs into Endnote Library
EndNote: Optimizing Find Full Text results
Includes discussion of OpenURL linking to PDFs at 3m:40s.

Sharing Libraries

Library Sharing in EndNote X9
EndNote X9 offers users the option to share a group of references with up to 100 other EndNote online users.
Sharing Groups Using EndNote 21, 20 and X9 Desktop Version
Group sharing provides entire teams with immediate and real-time access to an EndNote group. A group is a selected set of references from an EndNote library. Group sharing is recommended as an alternative to saving a library or group on a shared drive or emailing a compressed copy around to collaborators.

Backup & Library Safety

Backing Up the EndNote Library: Create An .enlx File
Refer to the sections for Compress Library for EndNote X and later users: "You can save your complete library (the filename.enl file as well as its associated .Data folder and all of its contents) to a single compressed filename.enlx file in order to easily back up your library or send a copy to a colleague. Later, you can easily restore (unzip) the compressed library with EndNote." Includes video: In action: EndNote 20 Compress Library.
Library Safety
Dropbox is a cloud based file sharing service. Our database products (EndNote™, Reference Manager and ProCite) were not designed for compatibility with this service or other cloud storage. While you can use the service to keep a backup copy or share a compressed copy of your database file(s), we do not recommend opening and/or using the database from that location. If you have your database files saved to Dropbox or any cloud storage, we recommend you copy the files to another location on your computer or remote drive before you open them.

EndNote Click

Finders

Connection Finder
Connection files contain all the information necessary for EndNote to search and import references from an online database. Use the Connection Finder to search for a specific Information Provider.
Filter Finder
Use import filters to transfer information previously downloaded from an online database. Search for filters to locate a specific Information Provider.
Style Finder
Search for a style name and/or citation style and/or publisher.

Citation Management Tools