Citation Management with EndNote 21
- EndNote 21: New FeaturesRecover a lost or damaged library; data restoration; tags; EndNote Web interface; Cite While You Write in Google Docs
New Features include:
- Organize your references using color-coded Tags for extra flexibility.
- Exclusive access to the brand-new, totally rebuilt EndNote Web (web.endnote.com): syncing functionality is available for three years after registration (note: EndNote 20 syncs to a separate online tool).
- Recover a lost or damaged library with ease
- Single reference restoration – made a copy paste error? Accidentally removed an important file attachment? No worries. EndNote can restore it from a previously synced version.
- Share your library with up to 1,000 colleagues.
- EndNote: Do's and Don'tsTips include: backup, syncing, sharing libraries, automatic formatting of large documents, author input, Google Doc incompatibility, editing citations, concurrent viewing in read-only mode, and more.
Installation
- EndNote 21 Installer, License Key and InstructionsThis desktop tool may be downloaded for use by Jefferson students, faculty, and staff for use on their own computers. This page is available from off and on campus with the exception of the JeffGuest wireless network. Contact Jefferson IS&T (215-955-7975) for help installing on Jefferson computers. Contact askalibrarian@jefferson.edu for additional assistance.
- Save a Compressed Library: EndNote.enlx backup before updating from a previous EndNote version.
- Uninstall Instructions for Windows and Mac: EndNoteNote: uninstalling an older version before installing EndNote 21 is not required. But once EndNote 21 is the default application, it is recommended that previous version be uninstalled.
Compatibility
EndNote 21 compatibility:
- Windows 10 and 11
- macOS 10.14, 10.15, 11, 12, 13, 14
- Word 2010 and above
- Apple M1/M2/M3 Chip CompatibilityThe EndNote 21 & 20.1.0 update provides compatibility with Apple Silicon-based macOS. Please update to EndNote 20.1.0 EndNote 20: Updates
Workaround provided for error messages.
Getting Started
Windows
- EndNote 21: Windows: Quick Reference Guides (QRG) CollectionDownload a collection of all quick reference guides for the Windows version of EndNote 21 in one PDF file.
macOS
- EndNote 21: macOS: Quick Reference Guides (QRG) CollectionDownload a collection of all quick reference guides for the macOS version of EndNote 21 in one PDF file.
Configuring EndNote Preferences and Downloading PDFs
Jefferson Libraries has transitioned from EZproxy to OpenAthens authentication for access to journal articles. EndNote Desktop is not supported by OpenAthens and only the OpenURL Path may be added via Preferences (Authenticate with: URL: input field is now left empty).
To attach a PDF to a citation manager (during or after the import process), you’ll need to configure the citation manager tool with the library’s OpenURL (https://jefferson.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01TJU_INST/01TJU_INST:01TJU?):
- Open EndNote.
- On the Edit menu (EndNote 20 on Mac), select Preferences.
- Select Find Full Text.
- Paste the OpenURL (above) into the box labeled OpenURL Path.
- Select Apply and then OK to save changes.
Please note: without the Authenticate with: URL: EndNote's Find Full Text is not totally functional at this time (we hope for an eventual fix) as it is only relying upon the OpenURL to import PDFs.
EndNote Click is an alternative option for capturing full text (PDFs must have embedded digital object identifiers to be successfully imported).
Finders
- Connection FinderConnection files contain all the information necessary for EndNote to search and import references from an online database. Use the Connection Finder to search for a specific Information Provider.
- Filter FinderUse import filters to transfer information previously downloaded from an online database. Search for filters to locate a specific Information Provider.
- Style FinderSearch for a style name and/or citation style and/or publisher.
Backup & Library Safety
- Backing Up the EndNote Library: Create An .enlx FileRefer to the sections for Compress Library for EndNote X and later users: "You can save your complete library (the filename.enl file as well as its associated .Data folder and all of its contents) to a single compressed filename.enlx file in order to easily back up your library or send a copy to a colleague. Later, you can easily restore (unzip) the compressed library with EndNote." Includes video: In action: EndNote 20 Compress Library.
- Library SafetyDropbox is a cloud based file sharing service. Our database products (EndNote™, Reference Manager and ProCite) were not designed for compatibility with this service or other cloud storage. While you can use the service to keep a backup copy or share a compressed copy of your database file(s), we do not recommend opening and/or using the database from that location. If you have your database files saved to Dropbox or any cloud storage, we recommend you copy the files to another location on your computer or remote drive before you open them.
Damaged Library Recovery
Once an error message appears that an EndNote library is damaged:
*Select the Library tab in EndNote and then Recover Library...via the menu:
*Select OK in the pop-up window:
Then:
- Select the damaged library and select "Open."
- Save the recovered library.
- A prompt should display indicating that the library has been recovered, select OK.
- Open the recovered library and continue your work.