LibGuides: Citation Management Tools: RefWorks

Citation Management with RefWorks

RefWorks is an online research management and writing tool. It is designed to help researchers gather, manage, store and share all types of information. In addition, you can:

Annotate articles.
Drag and drop documents allows smart recognition to quickly upload PDFs.
Use the "Save to RefWorks" browser extension to capture research from websites.
Format in-text citations and bibliographies.

An institutional account is available for Thomas Jefferson University faculty, students and staff; Jefferson Hospitals: TJUH, JHN and Methodist clinicians; and staff and Jefferson residents, postdocs and fellows.

Login

RefWorks This link opens in a new window
Login to RefWorks

RefWorks Release Information 2023
RefWorks Release Information 2024
Product updates and resolved issues.
What is RefWorks Reference Manager
Overview and includes creating a bibliography using the Microsoft Word plugin.

Getting Started

RefWorks YouTube Channel
Basic Functionality
Sorting, viewing options (e.g., table, full), deleting citations, creating bibliographies, Quick Cite, Tools: Save to RefWorks, RefWorks Citation Manager, Write-n-Cite, and searching RefWorks.
Organizing References with Folders in RefWorks

Adding References

Exporting and Adding Content: RefWorks

Exporting References to RefWorks
Creating References and Adding Documents to RefWorks (includes manual entry and adding PDFs)
Editing References in RefWorks
Importing PubMed Results into RefWorks
Managing References
Import PDFs, add references from a website, search databases from within RefWorks, working with shared references, manual input, importing database files, reference view options, accessing full text, organize by folders & tags, editing, create bibliographies, Quick Cite, sharing, exporting, working with Projects.